pie chart

pie chart The Colossus of Death

Modern* Aggro Combo Control U/B (Dimir)

djgunn


Description

There seems to a lot of love and hate for the Blightsteel Colossus right now. So, I'm attempting my own variation of the Turbo Colossus.

My variation is based around the interaction between Deathtouch and Trample. As per the magic rules, if a creature with Trample deals lethal damage to a blocker, it's remaining damage rolls over to the player. 1 point of damage from a Deathtouch creature is lethal, which then allows you to dump all but 1 point of the Blightsteel Colossus's damage directly on the blocking creature's control (unless they multi-block of course, but now we're getting in semantics).

And of course, I have to give credit where credit is due. Thanks to shawning for creating Splicing Insanity and inspiring me to get over my Blightsteel Colossus hate, and build this deck.

Let me know what you think!

Also, if you're trying to find the relevant comprehensive rules, here's they are for easy reference (well, the rule and a quick summary).

704.5h Any deathtouch damage assigned to a creature destroys it.

702.2b Any amount of deathtouch damage is lethal.

510.1c-d A break down and example of how blocking and assigning damage works.

702.18b Breaks down how trample works as a modifier for assigning combat damage.

Suggestions

Updates

Once and awhile, I fail to make changes to the deck here on tappedout, that I've actually made irl. So I finally put in the Inkmoth Nexus' that I've been playing with, as I know some of you have been wondering where they were. :D

Comments View Archive

crabopolis says... #1

i know your pie chart says you have the land right. I always worry having so few of a basic land like 6 Swamp because in a 9 turn game with 4 draw cards, you've only got like a 20% chance of drawing a swamp. unless you're playing a Lashwrithe i'd more balance your basic lands maybe? i just know how my luck goes.

No i didn't actually do the calculations so i don't want to hear about how wrong i am, just making a point!

December 19, 2011 5:40 p.m.

Jokernaught says... #2

Actually its a fair point. But he has the mana fixed with Darkslick Shores and Drowned Catacomb . In your case if you run Lashwrithe then yeah Run swamp heavy and just flip the color pie completely and run more black in general. Personal I'd run Lashwrithe in a Mono-black with Vampire Outcasts at the front. In fact I'll build one and link it.

December 19, 2011 6:20 p.m.

Jokernaught says... #3

deck:lashwrithe-vampire

December 19, 2011 6:40 p.m.

crabopolis says... #4

i didn't mean he should run Lashwrithe , i just meant for me, instead of 6/10 Swamp to Island , I'd personally run 8/8.

December 19, 2011 6:57 p.m.

Jokernaught says... #5

Oh... Makes more sense now. Sorry bout that. I playtested against this deck and its sick. Vamps have nothing on this.

December 19, 2011 7:02 p.m.

Minousmancer says... #6

djgunn makes solid decks, that's all there is to it.

December 19, 2011 7:29 p.m.

djgunn says... #7

@crabopolis, I've noticed playing, that I really never have a problem getting the mana out that I need.

@Jokernaught, Minousmancer, thanks for the props!

December 19, 2011 7:44 p.m.

djgunn says... #8

I'm looking at bringing this to FNM this week, just to throw a wrench in everyone's gears. So, if you anyone has any ideas how to make this even more punishing and surprising at the same time, let me know!

December 27, 2011 2:33 p.m.

FDMDorelMinxQ says... #9

No, really. why Shape Anew ?

December 27, 2011 4:47 p.m.

MarkBGH says... #10

FDMDorelMinxQ, you Shape Anew on the token from Wing Splicer , and it finds Blightsteel Colossus by default because there are no other artifacts in the deck.

December 27, 2011 5:37 p.m.

MarkBGH says... #11

It also works on Inkmoth Nexus because it becomes an artifact creature.

December 27, 2011 5:39 p.m.

Minousmancer says... #12

FDMDorelMinxQ it's called brutality!

December 27, 2011 6:23 p.m.

Ohthenoises says... #13

have you thought of Quicksilver Amulet just in case you draw into your Blightsteel Colossus before your Shape Anew ? same mana cost

December 28, 2011 12:42 a.m.

djgunn says... #14

I did consider it. However, with Liliana of the Veil , I have the chance to use her discard ability to great effect, and get rid of the Blightsteel Colossus in my hand. I've run into it in a few games, where I had both of them in my hand, and discarded both of them via Liliana.

December 28, 2011 1:25 a.m.

QuentinD says... #15

this is really nice, never seen a U/B Blightsteel deck. +1. A few days ago i got a box and got 2 Blightsteels, at the end of the day had 4. A few days after that got some more besieged packs, first one, i pulled a fifth one, this may finally have given me something to use them in.

December 28, 2011 4:33 a.m.

NewYork01 says... #16

by the way, if you are only being blocked by a single creature you must assign all combat damage to that creature.you can't just say "oh I'll assign one dmg to and the rest to you"the only time you can split up your combat dmg is if you are being multiblocked, then you can assign 1dmg to each of the defending creatures.

December 28, 2011 8:49 a.m.

Ohthenoises says... #17

Actually since its trample all he has to do is assign 1 when it has deathtouch since any damage from a deathtouch source is considered lethal infect or not. Deathtouch is checked as a state based action and trample's rule states that once lethal damage is dealt to all blocking creatures the rest may be assigned to the defending player (702.2b+702.17b)

December 28, 2011 9:28 a.m.

NewYork01 says... #18

510.1c A blocked creature assigns its combat damage to the creatures blocking it. If no creatures are currently blocking it (if, for example, they were destroyed or removed from combat), it assigns no combat damage. If exactly one creature is blocking it, it assigns all its combat damage to that creature. If two or more creatures are blocking it, it assigns its combat damage to those creatures according to the damage assignment order announced for it. This may allow the blocked creature to divide its combat damage. However, it cant assign combat damage to a creature thats blocking it unless, when combat damage assignments are complete, each creature that precedes that blocking creature in its order is assigned lethal damage.

December 28, 2011 9:34 a.m.

Ohthenoises says... #19

Look at trample .. the ability is a rule modifier.. it states that once lethal damage is assigned the rest may be assigned to the player

December 28, 2011 9:38 a.m.

Ohthenoises says... #20

702.17a .. states that "trample is a static ability that modifies the rules for assigning attacking creature's combat damage."

December 28, 2011 9:42 a.m.

djgunn says... #21

Yeah, anyone with rules questions, refer to the bottom of my description. It'll point you to the relevant rules that I'm abusing.

December 28, 2011 11:28 a.m.

MarkBGH says... #22

The trample thing is pretty well known tech in the Wolf Run Deck too. It's part of the reason Kessig Wolf Run is so insane w/ Inkmoth Nexus .

December 28, 2011 11:38 a.m.

Ohthenoises says... #23

The 702.18b is for vigilance lol that may be some of the confusion

December 28, 2011 11:59 a.m.

djgunn says... #24

Did I really type the wrong rules, I could have sworn I just copied over the text from the comp rules. Well, I tell ya way. I'm going to just post the full rules in the description, for easy reference.

December 28, 2011 12:06 p.m.

Ohthenoises says... #25

haha not necessarily just write the 17 instead of the 18 no biggie lol

December 28, 2011 12:10 p.m.

djgunn says... #26

So, I'm looking at the comprehensive rules right now, and rule 702.17a says "Shroud is a static ability. "Shroud" means "This permanent or player cant be the target of spells or abilities"

However, 702.18b (I'm copying and pasting this directly from the comp rules...)

702.18b The controller of an attacking creature with trample first assigns damage to the creature(s) blocking it. Once all those blocking creatures are assigned lethal damage, any remaining damage is assigned as its controller chooses among those blocking creatures and the player or planeswalker the creature is attacking. When checking for assigned lethal damage, take into account damage already marked on the creature and damage from other creatures thats being assigned during the same combat damage step, but not any abilities or effects that might change the amount of damage thats actually dealt. The attacking creatures controller need not assign lethal damage to all those blocking creatures but in that case cant assign any damage to the player or planeswalker its attacking.

So, I was right in my rules referencing.

December 28, 2011 12:22 p.m.

djgunn says... #27

Also, Vigilance is 702.19

December 28, 2011 12:23 p.m.

Ohthenoises says... #28

i must be working with old numbers .. /sigh time to update the app on my phone lol my bad friend

December 28, 2011 12:26 p.m.

djgunn says... #29

No worries :) You gave me a reason to open up the comp rules again and browse through them. The last update was September 30, 2011 for the Comprehensive Rules, if that helps you out at all.

December 28, 2011 12:27 p.m.

Ohthenoises says... #30

yea now i'm wondering what keyword ability on my rules on my phone is missing

December 28, 2011 12:28 p.m.

Ohthenoises says... #31

at least we both agree that you're right. you wanna see shenanigans for combos look at the spirit deck i have posted that one is FAR more questionable than yours haha

December 28, 2011 12:29 p.m.

Braxo says... #32

I enjoy Blightsteel decks. At first glance, I was concerned that you wouldn't have enough artifact tokens in play to be able to sacrifice to get get your Blightsteel out.

In Insanity's build, it was all about how fast can the Blightsteel be brought into play.

I'm guessing yours if for a slower game? Are you successful in getting the Blightsteel out when you play and set up with the death touch? I feel you may need more artifact tokens.

December 28, 2011 1:23 p.m.

djgunn says... #33

I worried about that at first, but it turned out to not really be a concern. Thanks to the heavy amount of control, I can hold off my opponent til I can pop the combo. Plus, I don't just have the Wing Splicer to sacrifice to my Shape Anew , I can also turn my Inkmoth Nexus into an artifact, and then go digging.

December 28, 2011 1:37 p.m.

Minousmancer says... #34

I love that: djgunn - "It'll point you to the relevant rules that I'm abusing." You kill me.

December 28, 2011 3:31 p.m.

djgunn says... #35

It's always been kind of my thing.

Step 1 - Get familiar with a gaming system.

Step 2 - Find the most interesting rules interactions.

Step 3 - Abuse those rules thoroughly, and break the system.

Step 4 - Get bored with rule I'm currently abusing, and repeat step 2.

:D

December 28, 2011 3:35 p.m.

Lilwolf says... #36

have you thought about using any unburial rites for whenever you manage to discard blightsteel to teh graveyard? seriously, just pitch him early and unburial rites him...

December 29, 2011 3:45 a.m.

djgunn says... #37

Lilwolf, problem with that idea is Blightsteel Colossus ' second ability.

"If Blighsteel Colossus would be put into a graveyard from anywhere, reveal Blightsteel Colossus and shuffle it into it's owner's library instead."

So, if I'm caused to discard him, or some one mills him, or he's countered (if I try to hard cast him) he'll just get shuffled back into the library.

The only way (in standard) that I can find to put a Blightsteel Colossus in the graveyard -- and make him stay there -- is with my Gruesome Frog deck.

December 29, 2011 11:40 a.m.

Lilwolf says... #38

Oh man! Im sorry XD I totally forgot about that DX Lol I look like a newb haha. I checked out your gruesome frog deck...what makes the blightsteel go to the graveyard and stay there? nMy thoughts were with the turn to frog card, ut...wouldnt that end after the blighsteel hits the graveyard? Or does that effect still last all the way through the end of the turn??

December 29, 2011 6:36 p.m.

crabopolis says... #39

yes when the blightsteel hits the graveyard, it is still a no ability 1/1 frog... so the 2nd ability never triggers.

December 29, 2011 7:13 p.m.

djgunn says... #40

Also, even if it ceased being a 1/1 frog when it hit the graveyard... it's already there. Blightsteel Colossus specifically says "If he WOULD go to a graveyard" not "if he DOES go to a graveyard," like the Legendary Eldrazi did. So, once he's already there, he's not being sent to the graveyard anymore. :D

December 30, 2011 2:22 a.m.

crabopolis says... #41

i remember having that arguement with my mom once,

"Go to your room!"

"I am already here!"

"You'r grounded!"

December 30, 2011 1:01 p.m.

rckclimber777 says... #42

Awww a fun little shape anew deck. I have a feeling that we'll be seeing a few decks that combine shape anew with snapcaster mage and the splicers. Just too much hesitation right now with the original shape anew deck.

December 30, 2011 1:08 p.m.

djgunn says... #43

rckclimber777, the other fun thing with this deck is that's transformative. After game 1, I side out 15 cards, and side in my entire sideboard, so they're practically playing against a completely different deck.

December 30, 2011 2:41 p.m.

SplodyCopter says... #44

hahaha wow! that's hilarious with the sideboard. it's like well shit im playing a combo deck, gotta sideboard some control... JK now you're playing u/b infect :3

December 30, 2011 5:33 p.m.

djgunn says... #45

Unfortunately, I didn't get the chance to play it at FNM this week, because our local shop decided to play draft first, and I wasn't sticking around for 4 hours to waiting to play constructed.

December 30, 2011 10:44 p.m.

crabopolis says... #46

not sad i missed it then, next week or the week after hopefully, i think i'll be taking my deck:deathtouch-trample-killer-dtk deck. thoughts?

December 30, 2011 11:12 p.m.

Felix.Bamford says... #47

702.2b Any amount of deathtouch damage is lethal.

This is not refering to face damage is it?

April 4, 2016 11:29 a.m.

FAGGOTUS-REX says... #48

With the edition of SOI, investigate makes clues that are artifacts, so you could Shape Anew on them and get Blightsteel Colossus earlier on. Love the deck though

May 16, 2016 5:02 p.m.

tazleon7 says... #49

i don't get it looks terrible to me please explain ... :)

October 12, 2016 12:27 a.m.

ComboCrazy says... #50

OH

MY

GOD

THIS IS HILARIOUS

There's a Madcap Experiment epidemic in modern right now, what with Platinum Emperion being a thing and all... maybe you want to splash red for it? It'd also open you up to that jank Immolating Souleater + Temur Battle Rage thing. These are some of the funniest combos to pull off so I think splashing red and relying on double strike instead of deathtouch might be a better idea. Also, maybe sideboard Argivian Restoration against mill.

February 19, 2017 7:31 p.m.

ComboCrazy says... #51

Oh, forgot about its colossus mechanic; scratch the Argivian Restoration.

February 19, 2017 7:33 p.m.

Ohthenoises says... #52

ComboCrazy You can't pay life when Platinum Emperion is in play.

February 19, 2017 10:17 p.m.

Blard says... #53

Try Platinum Emperion in board as a one of against stuff like Memoricide. Also for fixing urborg is always good

May 24, 2017 6:46 p.m.

ComboCrazy says... #54

Ohthenoises

So...?

Souleater / Temur Battle rage usually goes off faster than madcap, and if you've got an emperion on the field, just give that double strike instead of the souleater.

May 27, 2017 10:37 p.m.

Ohthenoises says... #55

I'm just clarifying because you made it sound like you could get the colossus in play and then pump Immolating Souleater infinitely.

That being said you don't actually want any other artifacts in your deck for madcap because you aren't guaranteed to hit a colossus and you might take a substantial chunk of damage.

May 27, 2017 10:57 p.m.

ComboCrazy says... #56

Ah, yes that is a good point, omit the souleater then. You don't want to pay four mana and 15 life for a 1/1 XD

May 28, 2017 1:53 p.m.

Please login to comment




Compare to inventory
Date added 5 years
Last updated 5 years
Legality

This deck is Modern legal.

Cards 60
Avg. CMC 3.33
Tokens 3/3 Golem
Folders U/B Control, Decks I Like, Deck Ideas, Good Ideas, <$ modern
Top rank #10 on 2011-12-30
Views 9920