pie chart

BELCHING ZOMBIES (opinions please)

Modern* Competitive Midrange Tribal W/B (Orzhov) Zombie

seuvius


Description

Modern zombies with a new card that i feel really gives zombies a push in the right direction in modern. Plague Belcher

Suggestions

Updates

Comments

Earth_Seed says... #1

Problem is Bloodghast is the strongest card in the deck. So ask yourself this, are you building 'black-good-stuff' or 'true-zombie-tribal?'

TZT is fun but more focused than this list.

If you want to keep your curve low but keep the power high cut 1 Gary, 1 Kalitas, 1 plague belcher and all copies of bloodgahst. Run 4 Death Baron (essential for 'true-zombie-tribal') and 3 copies of phyrexian arena.

The Barron's deathtouch keeps gravecrawler relevant once goyf is a 3/4.

Arena is more reliable than cryptbreaker and hurts less than Bob.

Note, this will clutter up your 3 slot but your curve will also top at 3 which is faster than most modern decks which top out at 4.

Cut all copies of bloodstained mire and 1 swamp, run 4 cavern and 2 mutavault.

Run 4 IoK MB and 3 Lilis MB. Put 3 Thoughtseize in SB. I would consider dropping dismember since losing 4 life with the arena out really sucks. Maybe Slaughter Pact if you are worried?

If you're running Gary you are running 'black good stuff," which is an entirely different deck than 'true-zombie-tribal." First you need 4 Gary for Gary to be reliable plus you need a stronger concentration devotion.

Completely different decks. I'd say your closer to 'True-Zombie-Tribal' than 'Black-Good-Stuff'

April 18, 2017 7:39 a.m.

seuvius says... #2

Well this deck is based arpund a specific tribe that synergizes with each other so i personally would consider it a tribal deck. The zombie deck that just top 8'd had less zombie and less synergy than this and it was called zombie tribal. I am still tweaking a few things, i especially want to include Bone Picker in the deck but im still iffy on that. Also, the deck runs fetches to get the revolt trigger on fatal push.

April 18, 2017 1:35 p.m.

seuvius says... #3

The zombie deck top 8'd a modern classic btw. Dont know why i didnt finish typing that.

April 18, 2017 1:38 p.m.

nayaanima1 says... #4

Is this meant to be a competitive deck? Because there's no way it can out-aggro Death's Shadow or go over the top of Eldrazi... then again, you may not necessarily be facing just those decks. I agree with Earth_Seed; this is just a Bloodghast deck that's bogged down by a bunch of mediocre cards. I'd just shift it to a more general black midrange deck, adding more Lilianas, and replacing Plague Belcher and Crypt Breaker with Obliterator, more Merchants, and extra lands

April 20, 2017 4:09 p.m.

seuvius says... #5

As stated earlier, a zombie deck just top 8'd a modern classic with around 400 people and has put up other decent results. The other cards that you speak of synergize very well with each other and the constant recursion does very well in the current meta.

April 20, 2017 4:24 p.m.

GreenisGod says... #6

This is a solid deck but I'm not totally sold on the belcher yet. I think you should probably run prized amalgam to combo with the bloodghast and gravecrawler instead, just my opinion . Check out my zombie tribal Zombie Vial

April 21, 2017 2:18 p.m.

GreenisGod says... #7

This is a solid deck but I'm not totally sold on the belcher yet. I think you should probably run prized amalgam to combo with the bloodghast and gravecrawler instead, just my opinion . Check out my zombie tribal Zombie Vial

April 21, 2017 2:18 p.m.

seuvius says... #8

Prized amalgams good but very slow. Plus a 3/3 body that comes into play tapped vs a 5/4 with menace and an ability that does damage to my opponent everytime i play a zombie, the belcher wins in my opinion.

April 21, 2017 2:28 p.m.

APPLE01DOJ says... #9

I would drop Relentless Dead in favor of Diregraf Colossus and drop Plague Belcher down to 2-3. I'd consider adding in more 1 drop zombies.

April 21, 2017 4:33 p.m.

seuvius says... #10

Diregraf colossus is one of those cards that seem good but arent amazing. The idea of the deck, along with most zombie decks is recursion, meaning that you dont want to keep the zombies in your graveyard.

April 21, 2017 5:05 p.m.

Moonbar says... #11

Hey, I have built a zombie deck. I played it at a GP, so I have some experience. Bloodghast is not as good as many zombies simply because it doesn't have a tribal bonus. Aether Vial will be better than Liliana of the Veil since zombies want to be more aggressive. Plague Belcher seems really really sweet, I would run 4. I would take out Kalitas, Traitor of Ghet and some number of Inquisition of Kozileks and removal spells for Death Baron as a 4-of. The new Amonkhet lord, Lord of the Accursed, seems really good also. I would also bring Collective Brutality into the main. From my experience, Diregraf Colossus is way too slow, and when you win with it, you were already winning anyways. I would use Marsh Flats instead of Bloodstained Mire for a white splash, getting you some really awesome sideboard tech along with Path to Exile and Wayward Servant in the main. A word of warning: DO NOT run Prized Amalgam in this list. It doesn't trigger often and is in most cases straight worse than a Death Baron or Lord of the Accursed.

Zombies are quite powerful, so keep with it. It definitely can keep up in the meta right now, and can do some hilarious things with Aether Vial in play.

April 21, 2017 5:20 p.m.

seuvius says... #12

Moonbar i am trying to make it more like the zombie deck that just top 8'd the modern classic that didnt run vials, but i have been considering splashing white.

April 21, 2017 6:05 p.m.

Sgt.Pickles says... #13

Hmm... There's only three cards in the deck that mutavault can help to cast... As it is, mutavault basically produces no mana. I would suggest dropping mutavault.

Other than that, I love the new possibility of white zombies with amonkhet, and this deck is a pretty cool showcase of what may be to come!

April 23, 2017 3:53 p.m.

honestly if you spam out some other zombies that would be good but time to reflect would be busted in this deck it's it's a instant for one white you can exile target creature that blocked or was blocked by a zombie maybe some embalm creatures like sacred cat and a psydo embalm like doomed dissenter cheap 1 drops that make zombies when they die that you can just toss to plague bleacher and the white in your deck would be more relevant

April 26, 2017 1:58 p.m.

seuvius says... #15

Time to reflect seems bad in modern as do those embalm creatures and the one drop slot is pretty full as is.

April 26, 2017 2:06 p.m.

The_Mike says... #16

Owning a semi-competitive deck myself (lands are still a work in progress) my friends often come to me to test their own brews against it to see where exactly their decks would stand against more consistent meta-like decks. As this is the case, I would like to give this deck a word of encouragement. Even if you do not play exactly the most popular picks like Liliana or IoK, the deck can work against anything. Experiment, see what works for you against the local meta you play against and improve your build from there.

I like seeing new cards that bring out new possibilities in old decks being played. Seeing how your -Zombies will fare in the future is certainly something to look forward to.

Good luck. If you own this deck then I hope you will have somebody to consistently test it against and then see what works in practice.

April 27, 2017 2:04 p.m.

Please login to comment




Compare to inventory
Date added 3 months
Last updated 2 months
Legality

This deck is Modern legal.

Cards 60
Avg. CMC 1.82
Tokens 2/2 Zombie
Folders To Build
Top rank #57 on 2017-05-01
Views 3615