pie chart

All Spells, Zero Lands, Turn One Win: BOOM

Legacy Budget Combo Infinite Combo Mill

Frampypants


Description

Looks awkward right?! Well it's actually quite simple:

1) Use card draws and mana creators to play Balustrade Spy or Undercity Informer and mill your entire deck because you have no lands.

2) 4 Narcomoeba will come back to the battlefield as a result of the mill and flasback Dread Return by sacrificing three Narcomoebas. Target Angel of Glory's Rise to get Azami, Lady of Scrolls and Laboratory Maniac into the battlefield from your graveyard, since you are completely milled.

3) Tap one of them and win. On turn one. 40% of the time.

                       Tranformational   Siding!

Rest in Peace and Deathrite Shaman suck! But with this sideboard you no longer rely on your graveyard.

Take out all Undercity Informer, Balustrade Spy, Dread Return, Narcomoeba, Laboratory Maniac etc and bring in the Goblin Charbelcher, Lion's Eye Diamond, Grim Monolith, Tinder Wall and Spoils of the Vault. Since you have no land, Charbelcher does 50ish damage to your opponent while they think they've got you beat with their Rest in Peace!

                          SOOOO SIICCCKKKK +1!!

Suggestions

Updates

Comments View Archive

Frampypants says... #1

Thanks folks! Marine123 you can use Cabal Therapy on yourself to get rid of a combo piece. Drawing two combo pieces is much harder but one is easy to deal with.

May 11, 2014 4:36 a.m.

killkong1211 says... #2

Needs a second Dread Return .
Without it no matter how good the hand, having Dread Return in it makes you lose.

May 16, 2014 1:26 p.m.

OMGpopcorn says... #3

killkong1211, Cabal Therapy is in the deck so that you can get cards out of your hand and into your graveyard. I myself prefer Putrid Imp , because you can use it more than once, but when you are putting tons of cards in your graveyard I can see why Frampypants put in Cabal Therapy instead.

May 25, 2014 4:55 p.m.

Shumdailumdai says... #4

Cellodude, you lose when you draw a card and you can't, not when you run out of cards.

May 28, 2014 5:40 p.m.

BubbleMahn says... #5

What can seriously make this good is the fact that you have a free mulligan if you have no land in your hand. So unlimited mulligan until you get perfect hand?

July 4, 2014 5:35 p.m.

BubbleMahn says... #6

/ nvm, apparently you have to still drop one card per mulligan

July 4, 2014 5:37 p.m.

BubbleMahn says... #7

Have you thought of an official name for this deck? How does "All for none" or "Madman's Redemption" sound? btw Would sideboarding a Sol Ring help at all in Vintage?

You COULD replace the Cabal Therapy with a Sol Ring , one more Wild Cantor and one more Dread Return (that can still be used with a Chrome Mox ).Keeping in mind this is just trying to stay tournament legal.

July 5, 2014 3:21 a.m.

BubbleMahn says... #8

Now that I think about it, if you have one of the combo cards in hand, for example Laboratory Maniac , but no Cabal Therapy in hand, you could mill, wait for the four Narcomoeba to return to the field, then pay Cabal Therapy 's flashback cost by sacking one Narcomoeba or what you milled yourself with, discard Laboratory Maniac and leave the remaining three or four for Dread Return 's flashback and continue with the combo. Now what if that were to happen but with one or even two Narcomoeba still in hand? Just wait for the other ones to return to the field and use what you milled yourself with as part of the flashback cost for Dread Return , whether it's Balustrade Spy or Undercity Informer .
Have two combo cards in hand at once (EVEN A Narcomoeba MAKING THREE)?! Azami, Lady of Scrolls and Angel of Glory's Rise still in hand?! Hopeless?! Nope. If possible, play Summoner's Pact to get a Spirit guide and/or just sack a Spirit guide to play a Wild Cantor . (Should have minimum 5 creatures on field by this point, including (possible) 3 Narcomoeba .) Sack two creatures by casting two seperate Cabal Therapy flashback costs, and discard the two (or three) combo cards. Then continue with the combo. For this case specifically, if a Wild Cantor can't be played, you're out of luck, or if you've still got a Narcomoeba in hand, try messing around with remaining mana in your pool. Still damn beautiful.
TL;DR Weebles wobble but they don't fall down!

July 5, 2014 4:21 a.m.

BubbleMahn says... #9

Sorry, I don't mean to spam but in the last paragraph, by sacking two combo cards I meant Azami, Lady of Scrolls and Angel of Glory's Rise so the combo can still work. I'm gonna wait for others to talk before I do again, whew. I'm constructing this deck for sure.

July 5, 2014 4:29 a.m.

BubbleMahn says... #10

nvm again, it's on Star City Games: "Oops, All the Spells!"

July 6, 2014 8:02 a.m.

rahmio says... #11

+1 from me

July 10, 2014 7:50 a.m.

lil_cheez says... #12

What if Dread Return is in your starting hand or draw? You "full" your hand and discard it in the cleanup step? Isn't that "pause" dangerous?

August 5, 2014 6:57 p.m.

Renaud says... #13

That's why you have Cabal Therapy You get 4 Narcomoeba back, so you can sacrifice one to discard a card that must be in the graveyard (like Dread Return for example)

August 6, 2014 2:27 a.m.

lil_cheez says... #14

Oh! I see!

August 6, 2014 6:46 p.m.

CapnAhab says... #15

Ops all spells... An Underworld Cerberus Build is more reliable.

August 11, 2014 7:15 p.m.

Renaud says... #16

I don't see how an Underworld Cerberus would work with this deck, could you elaborate?

August 12, 2014 11:41 a.m.

Nigeltastic says... #17

Ah legacy, the place where crazy combos are awesome and people don't understand how they work <3

August 12, 2014 1:22 p.m.

CapnAhab says... #18

Underworld Cerberus victory frees up a card slot, which is, by itself, better. It also minimizes dead hands resulting from drawing into combo components: in a deck using the Angel as a Dread Return target, drawing Angel of Glory's Rise , Laboratory Maniac , Dread Return , or Azami is problematic, whereas a deck using the Cerberus only has to worry about drawing the Cerberus itself or drawing Dread Return. This is a considerable improvement over the Angel-based method.

August 13, 2014 11:22 a.m.

CapnAhab says... #19

Scenario: Opening hand #1: Summoner's Pact, Undercity Informer, Simian Spirit Guide, Dark Ritual, Cabal Ritual, Dread Return, Simian Spirit Guide

I keep. I exile a Simian Spirit Guide and use the mana to cast Wild Cantor . I sacrifice Wild Cantor for a black mana and use the black mana to play Dark Ritual . I use two of the mana from Dark Ritual to play Cabal Ritual . That gives me a total of four black mana. I cast Undercity Informer and use my last remaining mana to activate its ability, putting my library into my graveyard and four Narcomoeba 's onto the battlefield. I sacrifice a Narcomoeba to flashback Cabal Therapy, targeting myself and naming Dread Return , which I then discard. I also get a zombie token thanks to Bridge from Below . I sacrifice a Narcomoeba to flashback Cabal Therapy on my opponent, naming whatever card I suspect might be a problem and getting another zombie token. If I see something that it still threatening, I sacrifice a third Narcomoeba to flashback my last Cabal Therapy and get rid of it, possibly getting another zombie token if my opponent hadn't already had any cards discarded. I then sacrifice three creatures, say one Narcomoeba and two zombie tokens, to flashback Dread Return targeting Underworld Cerberus . All of my creatures in my graveyard go to my hand. I exile a Simian http://static.tappedout.net/None_medium.jpgSpirit Guide for a red mana and use it to play Wild Cantor . I exile two Elvish Spirit Guide 's for two mana, sacrifice Wild Cantor for a blue mana, and cast Laboratory Maniac . With the Maniac on the battlefield, I cycle a Street Wraith and win

August 13, 2014 11:29 a.m.

CapnAhab says... #20

I forgot to add that your using Cabal Therapy to sac Underworld Cerberus in order to get all your mana gen back in hand.

August 13, 2014 11:39 a.m.

angeldeath says... #21

The way the milling rule works is that if you mill until you hit a land and don't get one you lose right their. This gives you no time to play any additional cards once you use one of your mill cards. Your dead before you can do anything. Sorry to say.

August 28, 2014 1:12 a.m.

Renaud says... #22

You lose once you can't "draw"

The milling effect of this deck doesn't make you draw, it makes you reveal the card, so you will be fine :)

August 28, 2014 5:56 p.m.

nashoud says... #23

Noob question here, but anyways: How do you tap a Wizard on turn one? Wouldn't any card sent to battlefield from graveyard have summoning sickness until turn 2?Is it because Azami, Lady of Scrolls 's activated ability technically bypasses the "no tap rule", since it doesn't have the "tap" symbol in its wording?Or am I missing something else?

In any case, an amazing deck!

September 18, 2014 3:56 p.m.

long_ears says... #24

what is the use of Spoils of the Vault ? superb deck!!!!

October 13, 2014 10:49 a.m.

SorinDankov says... #25

CapnAhab, your scenario uses 4 Cabal Therapy and this deck only has 3.

October 30, 2014 5:52 p.m.

werd3ad says... #26

http://archive.wizards.com/Magic/magazine/article.aspx?x=mtg/daily/deck/1359

November 3, 2014 9:35 p.m.

How does Spoils of the Vault work on this deck?

Thanks!

November 10, 2014 8:35 a.m.

Hopere says... #28

How do you use Undercity Informer's ability if you can't sac a creature.

November 21, 2014 4:22 p.m.

SorinDankov says... #29

he sacs himself

November 21, 2014 4:33 p.m.

Poprox says... #30

What do you do if it doesn't work?

December 18, 2014 7:43 a.m.

You should switch Cabal Therapy with Mox Jet

December 23, 2014 4:35 p.m.

Chromatic Star instead of azami?

December 23, 2014 8:45 p.m.

Renaud says... #33

-If this doesn't work you lose

-Mox Jet would be amazing, but it's banned in Legacy, and you need the Cabal Therapy to discard combo pieces if they are in your hand

-Chromatic Star would cost you an extra 2 to put on the table and activate and you would need to have it in your hand to go off. The beauty of the combo is that it dumps everything in the graveyard, then reanimate everything with Flashback effects

December 23, 2014 10:46 p.m.

lefebvrea9 says... #34

I'm new to legacy (usually play modern on standar or EDH) but this look very good, and what a sideboard! +1 of course

January 27, 2015 1:33 p.m.

CapnAhab says... #35

Why wouldn't you run 4 Cabal Therapy?

January 31, 2015 11:38 p.m.

Spencerbot15 says... #36

March 31, 2015 10:54 a.m.

Eddie1332 says... #37

Genius +1

April 8, 2015 9:48 a.m.

j.emery12 says... #38

Can anyone explain why Cabal Therapy is used?

April 24, 2015 4:11 p.m.

SorinDankov says... #39

lets you throw combo pieces away.

April 24, 2015 4:42 p.m.

DarkAnthem says... #40

Uh... What green creatures are you tutoring for with Summoner's Pact?

June 2, 2015 12:37 a.m.

SorinDankov says... #41

Wild Cantor primarily.

June 2, 2015 6:25 a.m.

Fro780 says... #42

Hey just built this deck plus sideboard to its entirety! Super excited to go play it. Took me 4 months due to crazy expensive sideboard but nothing some good ol trading couldn't handle! Love it!

June 29, 2015 10:32 p.m.

Biovisionary ? Also, why "budget"?

July 1, 2015 9:20 p.m.

Renaud says... #44

Because legacy!But also because price incresed in the past 2 years

July 16, 2015 3:10 p.m.

SirFowler says... #45

I would highly recommend 4x Chancellor of the Annex because it's very useful against Force of Wills and Pact of Negations.

July 25, 2015 1:38 p.m.

Arkavia says... #46

Incase anyone was wondering, he stole this deck from TheManaSourse. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l5khRZmkBvc

August 10, 2015 8:31 p.m.

Leviathan102 says... #47

He last updated this deck before the video was released.

August 20, 2015 11:34 p.m.

Quarion65 says... #48

I like the deck, +1. Please checkout my deck: Turn 1 Worldspine Win.

August 25, 2015 3:53 p.m.

This is actually a list from an established legacy archetype called "oops, all spells" it and dredge are supposedly the fastest combo decks in the format, but dredge has the plus of being $500 cheaper

October 13, 2015 11:56 a.m.

lordmalphas says... #50

Instead of Azami/glory/LabMan, the other win-cons you could run are:

Sutured Ghoul+Dragon Breath (+Dragon Shadow or Dragon Wings if you anticipate blockers) (exile all creatures from graveyard, attach enchantments of choice, attack for ~20 or 25)

The Mimeoplasm+Triskelion+Lord of Extinction (LOE will be at least 40, use his p/t as a copy of triskelion, then ping opponent to death)

Bridge from Below+Bridge from Below+Flame-Kin Zealot (Sac 3 narco's for 6 tokens, fkz gives them all +1/+1 haste, attack for 21

November 12, 2015 10:40 p.m.

hhafglop says... #51

November 17, 2015 10:44 a.m.

jstieps says... #52

Renaud I saw your comment and agree with you the summoning sickness rule is that the creature can't attack or tap unless it has haste, it's still tapping, Frampypants you need a human wizard with haste like Skirk Alarmist which may or may not be a human, based on most websites I have looked at people consider it human, you can look too, also this website says it is human

January 2, 2016 9:43 p.m.

jstieps says... #53

Frampypants you could also save a Simian Spirit Guide in your hand and put in 1 Crimson Mage or just Surrak, the Hunt Caller

January 2, 2016 9:50 p.m.

omega_helix says... #54

Renaud & jstieps You're not 100% wrong. If a creature has a tap symbol without haste it's tap ability cannot be used. but because Azami, Lady of Scrolls has an effect like Heritage Druid you are allowed to tap any wizard, regardless of summoning sickness. If you have any concerns with my point, please google into heritage druid first, as it is an extremely similar case. Hope I cleared things Up. :D

January 5, 2016 6:19 p.m.

jstieps says... #55

Ok thanks omega_helix it made me confused why no one noticed that, but that really helps my understanding, thanks for clarification

January 5, 2016 8:57 p.m.

Well its official. Everyone here is an idiot. There is no way this deck can possibly win turn one (in the way described using Lab Maniac[not belcher])... EVER. Did it ever occur to you that the wizard you must tap to win the game will have SUMMONING SICKNESS??? Is the whole world gone mad or am I missing something???

January 31, 2016 11:08 p.m.

jstieps says... #57

Look at the explanation omega_helix gave Michaeldeltawhiskey

January 31, 2016 11:15 p.m.

HySpeed says... #58

Hi,

I don't need the turn 1 win and am fine with winning on a future turn. Is there a way to do this without Angel of Glory's Rise?

The reason is that I am building a collection of decks for each color permutation (casual) and I am looking for a URBG deck. Without the Angel, this deck fits perfectly.

Thanks,Jon

February 21, 2016 12:11 a.m.

myingling says... #59

No, there is no summoning sickness problem here. See the "Rulings" at the bottom of this card to understand why: http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=152556

March 5, 2016 11:38 a.m.

Zyron99 says... #60

It's all great, but is there a reason you don't main board the LED's? They basically save you from having any combo pieces in hand except 2 Narco's, and can be used to activate the Undercity Informer. This lets you use 1 dark ritual or cabal ritual to get UI out then use LED to get all you cards in hand into the graveyard and activate the 1 mana cost. Worst case it can be used with the mill trigger on the stack to get your cards in hand into the graveyard. I would remove 2/2 of SSG/ESG, or maybe just all 4 SSG since you can use summoner's pact to go get ESG. That then frees up 4 sideboard cards, maybe 4 Pacts of Negation or something.

March 21, 2016 1:24 p.m.

DragonElder says... #61

I don't think it works because the cards say until, then put then put them in your graveyard, thus if you never reveal a land nothing happens. Please tell me/ send a link to explain this ruling.

March 26, 2016 10:52 p.m.

Zyron99 says... #62

You perform the action until it is fulfilled or you cannot perform the action any more. In this case there are no more cards in your library so you cease revealing cards. At that point you continue with the rest of the cards text.

In response to other people here talking about this causing you to lose, you don't lose until you need to draw a card and there are none in your library, since you are revealing cards in your library, not drawing them, you do not lose from that effect.

It is similar to the Nagging Thoughts or Fork in the Road from this new set. You go get two cards and put one in your graveyard, this is not discarding, it is going straight from the library zone to the graveyard zone, thus you cannot activate a madness cost from that effect.

April 20, 2016 5:23 p.m.

Someone please explain to me why an $850 USD deck is 'budget'? Thanks. As for constructive comments... WOAH this deck is amazing

June 12, 2016 10:29 a.m.

kennybalderas says... #64

But if you run out of cards to draw? Wouldnt that mean you lost the game?

June 13, 2016 7:24 p.m.

jstieps says... #65

First of all WerewolvesLover, this is for Legacy, this format is usually breaking $2000 in price tag, second of all kennybalderas, yeah but you finish the game before you draw cards.

July 2, 2016 12:38 p.m.

jstieps says... #66

Also I may add that kennybalderas, read Laboratory Maniac, the effect means you don't lose but win.

July 2, 2016 12:39 p.m.

Cetriel says... #67

Is this an original of yours or one you copied?

July 10, 2016 8:42 a.m.

BrunoTT says... #68

this is my new favourite deck. Bravo sir.

September 5, 2016 5:25 p.m.

Mortem says... #69

I would cut Angel of Glory's Rise and Azami, Lady of Scrolls for Underworld Cerberus; you get the exact same combo but taking 1 less card slot.

December 12, 2016 1:57 p.m.

Cetriel says... #70

Nice one Mortem!This is how I would do it personally. . .Underworld Cerberus variant-AllSpells, Zero Lands

December 14, 2016 5:38 a.m.

Cetriel says... #71

I originally had a bit of a different idea of how to make this deck work with UC but as I tested it I moved closer to the original and deleted the deck I had made. I'd personally suggest another Wild Cantor in the newly open spot but that is just my preference.

December 14, 2016 5:50 p.m.

Wow! +1! Can't give you any suggestions!

December 16, 2016 10:20 a.m.

Wurmlover says... #73

why do you run Summoner's Pact?

January 12, 2017 7:41 p.m.

Cetriel says... #74

Mainly for fetching Elvish Spirit Guide but could also grab Wild Cantor or even Tinder Wall (sideboard)

January 12, 2017 8:37 p.m.

Cetriel says... #75

What I don't understand, why I asked my previous question, is 3 Cabal Therapy's. I have done a lot of research on this sort of deck over the last couple years in order to make Demoralizer. I know my deck is quite a bit different but if you have 3 of the cards that need to be in your graveyard in hand instead why not just mulligan? I mean In certain and likely fairly rare instances you could get those 3 and a 4 card combo as well but is it worth it?

January 12, 2017 8:47 p.m.

Please login to comment




Compare to inventory
Date added 3 years
Last updated 2 years
Legality

This deck is Legacy legal.

Cards 60
Avg. CMC 2.27
Folders 5. Casual Funsies, Amazing, do want, Fav decks, Pidän, awesome , Decks I like, Cool Decks, mazzi interessanti, Decks I want, See all 338
Top rank #2 on 2013-03-18
Views 160759