Photosynthesis (Colossus Format)

Casual _raeofsunlight

SCORE: 58 | 68 COMMENTS | 2958 VIEWS | IN 6 FOLDERS


Moving Forward —Jan. 13, 2018

The deck rules have been updated for clarity and ease, thanks to SecondRate and their awe-inspiring help.

Thank you to all who have taken interest in this format and to those who have continued to support it. <3

Mr.Beaver says... #1

What's the ruling on Dryad Arbor?

October 30, 2017 10:34 a.m.

Just an idea for the format rulings, you could have it so that each player starts off with X basic lands (I'd say 6) at the beginning of the game!

October 30, 2017 11:34 a.m.

Plus, a suggestion for the deck, storage lands could be immensely useful for your purpose, if you don't start off with lands on the battlefield. You could spend all of your mana on the lands then blow it all once you can afford the creatures!

Saltcrusted Steppe Crucible of the Spirit DragonRushwood Grove

October 30, 2017 11:40 a.m.

Ignore the Crucible of the Spirit Dragon, didn't read the whole card

October 30, 2017 11:40 a.m.

icehit6 says... #5

Just as a note, any card with X converted mana cost, X=0. I don't know if you're making an exception for cards with costs that are X, but for example, Quarantine Field's CMC is 2.

October 30, 2017 2:19 p.m.

_raeofsunlight says... #7

Mr.Beaver It's a land, so it is legal to play

October 30, 2017 4:12 p.m.

_raeofsunlight says... #8

ACDAMAN I like the idea of starting off with a certain amount of lands. It would certainly help quicken the game.

October 30, 2017 4:13 p.m.

So this played against another player with a Colossus deck? Also, is this like type four?

December 26, 2017 5:47 a.m.

Is Worn Powerstone legal? And what about cards with Suspend?

December 26, 2017 5:49 a.m.

Actually, what about morph cards?

December 26, 2017 5:49 a.m.

Godhead_Initiated, Worn Powerstone is legal because it only taps for mana and has no other abilities, but I will have to get back to you later tonight about your other questions.

December 26, 2017 1:26 p.m.

Godhead_Initiated, both morph and suspend cards with alternative costs are allowed as long as the original cost of the card is 7cmc.

December 26, 2017 8:31 p.m.

Ok, awesome.

December 27, 2017 1:09 a.m.

Are cards with flashback legal?

December 27, 2017 1:12 a.m.
December 27, 2017 1:33 a.m.

I built a rough idea of the colossus format, and I want to check with you if it is legal by your rulings.

December 27, 2017 1:39 a.m.

Godhead_Initiated Oh sweet, share it with me or tag it. I'd love to see it

December 27, 2017 1:41 a.m.

brewtzar says... #19

What exactly are you counting as a two-colored deck here? I noticed that you only run four non-green spells.

December 29, 2017 3:33 a.m.

brewtzar You can have as much or as little of each color that you want, but I would say that as long as you have no less than a playset of a single color, it counts as two-color. Colorless, of course, does not count as a color, but may be included. After the game that I played tonight using my friend's deck for this format, I will definitely be looking into more white cards to add for better defense against my other friend's deck.

December 29, 2017 11:01 p.m.

SecondRate says... #21

That third rule states that All cards must have a cmc 7 or over, unless they tap for mana and do not have any other effects. and you cite Sol Ring as being legal.

Comparatively, rule 5 states that Creatures under 7 cmc that tap for mana are also illegal. meaning a mana dork like Elvish Mystic is illegal.

My question is, the aforementioned rules make no explanation into why an artifact mana rock is legal to use but a creature mana dork is not. Why the conflicting rules? It seems odd to allow noncreature spells that tap for mana but not creature spells.

December 30, 2017 12:50 a.m.

epajula says... #22

Because creatures are just that. Dryad Arbor is the one exception, which IMO should be banned in this format. If it's a creature that can tap for mana, it still has the ability to attack, defend, and wear equipment/enchantments (yes I know cards exist to do that to mana rocks). It's to encourage all the most ridiculous of magic.

_raeofsunlight: Just a clarification on X spells. The total mana spent has to be 7 correct? So I could Banefire for 6 T7?

December 30, 2017 11:47 a.m.

SecondRate, epajula pretty much answered that (if you didnt already see that.

Mana rocks are simple and have no other abilities aside from giving mana, while mana dorks can attack and do other things, making them illegal because they are creatures under 7 cmc.

epajula Yes, cards with X must be paid with seven mana total.

Ill try to update the rulings to see if I can make things clearer.

December 30, 2017 1:13 p.m.

Update: new card minimum is 75 cards

December 30, 2017 1:26 p.m.

epajula says... #25

If you do start with extra land in the beginning make sure you up the life totals. If that is a rule that goes through I would only start with 2, no more than 3, lands so that mana rocks are still relevant.

December 30, 2017 6:32 p.m.