Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed

Legality

Format Legality
Noble Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Vintage Legal
Casual Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Masters Edition III (ME3) Uncommon
Portal Three Kingdoms (PTK) Rare
Promo Set (000) Rare

Combos Browse all

Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed

Legendary Creature — Human Soldier

Horsemanship (This creature can't be blocked except by creatures with horsemanship.)

Sacrifice Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed: Return target black card from your graveyard to your hand. Activate this ability only during your turn, before attackers are declared.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

PTK

Ebay

Have (2) Big-Foot , TheRealPeaches
Want (0)

Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed Discussion

pthf27 on Hatepile

3 days ago

precociousapprentice thanks for the upvote!

I wish I could give you a better idea of how this list works but currently this is mostly a brainstorm for a future deck. The ideas come from my previous experience playing Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed stax for a couple years before joining the dark side of UB combo for a while.

My initial idea was to run Zurgo Helmsmasher as the commander for a on-demand win condition but Queen Marchesa while slower, seems like a much better card overall as she provides extra resources to break parity under stax pieces.

Pheardemons on With the Night King's power, Death has no meaning

1 week ago

NensouHiebara Thanks for the comment!

And I actually did not know that this card existed. It is definitely a maybe. The deck already does a great job of getting stuff out of my graveyard, and I have other retrieval in the forms of Ill-Gotten Gains and Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed. However, redundancy is good in EDH. Thanks for the suggestion.

chris.rodriguez358 on The Descent Into Darkness

1 week ago

Wow! This list looks insane. You're running basically every card I've tried to keep myself from buying over the last three years haha. One day Candelabra of Tawnos . . . one day.

Any reason you decided to add creatures? They all make sense, but I'm trying to think of ways to recur Vampire Hexmage and Arcbound Reclaimer without popping your commander or tutoring for Trading Post. Try running Dawn of the Dead, it has so much synergy with Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed that I think it merits a slot. Lets you just keep him in the yard to recur a black spell each of your first main-phases. I'd suggest Bloodghast and Nether Traitor if you want other self-recurring creatures. Maybe check out Liliana, Death's Majesty.

Corpse Dance helps out a lot in this situation, but I really hate the whole "top creature in the graveyard" nonsense. It is such a tough condition to keep track of and people get so handsy with your graveyard when you run this commander that you really need to house rule the order of your graveyard every time you run the deck. It may not pose an issue for you since you have a much more limited creature pool, but it can be annoying. With that said, there's no real substitute for what it does, instant speed and buyback make this card insane.

Also, I'm really liking Forcefield in your deck and I am probably going to include it in one of my lists.

How have you liked Soul Conduit? I've considered it a few times but I'm always pretty hesitant.

Last, I'd probably suggest Syphon Mind and Promise of Power for card draw over Sign in Blood and Night's Whisper. They have so much more impact.

Rhadamanthus on Does Mirage Mirror still copy ...

2 weeks ago

No. If all the targets of a spell or ability go missing or otherwise become illegal before it starts to resolve then it will be countered by the rules of the game and none of its effects will happen. Mirage Mirror won't become a copy of Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed in your example.

Pheardemons on Does Mirage Mirror still copy ...

2 weeks ago

Not to be rude, I'm not sure you are understanding what I am asking. But let me respond to your last comment first. Sacrificing Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed is a cost of his ability, everything you said in your last comment is true.

Now to try and clarify what I am asking

Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed's ability is being activated AFTER Mirage Mirror has already targeted it. I am activating Mirage Mirror's copy ability and targeting. Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed. I will then hold priority, and sacrifice Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed to his own ability. The stack now reads (from bottom to top) Mirage Mirror's copy ability and Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed's ability. Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed's ability will resolve first getting me whatever card I want from my graveyard, then Mirage Mirror's ability will resolve. What I'm trying to ask is being that Mirage Mirror's ability actually targeted Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed as a copy, does it still become a copy of Xiahou Dun even though Xiahou Dun is no longer on the battlefield.

Pheardemons on Does Mirage Mirror still copy ...

2 weeks ago

guessling In my scenario, I am sacrificing Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed BEFORE Mirage Mirror's ability resolves. This is the reason I am asking this question. If Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed is no longer on the battlefield before Mirage Mirror's resolves (but after it targets) does it still become a copy of Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed?

guessling on Does Mirage Mirror still copy ...

2 weeks ago

704.5k: two legendary permanents with the same name (Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed)

Pheardemons on Does Mirage Mirror still copy ...

2 weeks ago

So if I have Mirage Mirror on the battlefield with Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed. I activate Mirage Mirror's ability and target Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed, hold priority, then sacrifice Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed to his ability to return a black card from my graveyard to my hand (this will all be done during main phase one). Will Mirage Mirror still become a copy of Xiahou Dun, the One-Eyed because it was targeted before it left the battlefield?

Does this combo work the way I worded it?

Load more

Latest Commander