World Queller

Legality

Format Legality
Noble Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Casual Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Zendikar (ZEN) Rare

Combos Browse all

World Queller

Creature — Avatar

At the beginning of your upkeep, you may choose a card type. If you do, each player sacrifices a permanent of that type.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

ZEN

Ebay

World Queller Discussion

MoGoose831 on Big Sis Sisay Makes the Rules

1 month ago

Hey sorry for the late response was at work and finally had time to look over your deck.Looks like a lot of fun Sisay has always seemed like an awesome commander!

You already have Elesh Norn so why not add in Natural Affinity for ultimate land kill which would essentially be an instant win 2 card combo.

Azusa, Lost but Seeking is amazing and will ramp better than anything else in your deck so far.

Dark Depths is brutal and combos with Solemnity

Cathedral of Serra and Adventurers' Guildhouse give all your legendaries banding which is super annoying to deal with!

World Queller + Drownyard Temple is another combo that I have to encourage you to at least play test!

Hope these help

Epochalyptik on Can I Flicker in response ...

2 months ago

@Oloro_Magic: Of note, World Queller's ability is not an activated ability. It's a triggered ability.

Activated abilities are written in the form "[cost]: [effect]" and must be manually activated by a player who has priority.

Triggered abilities are written in the form "[At/When/Whenever] [event/condition], [effect]" and trigger automatically when the given event occurs or the given condition is met.

Also, a player may retain priority after activating an ability; priority is not necessarily always passed right after activating an ability.

Gidgetimer on Can I Flicker in response ...

2 months ago

You could respond to the original ability by flickering, but it isn't going to do anything and you are not going to know what type was chosen. World Queller's ability is all one effect, so once the type is chosen players must choose and sacrifice a permanent of that type without any player receiving priority. The ability also does not target, so even if it only could hit creatures it works more like Wrath of God than Doomblade. Cloudshift negates targeting because the creature that enters is considered a new game object. The new object would still be a creature and could still be sacrificed if creatures were chosen. Something like Ghostway could save all of your creatures, but your opponent could just choose a different type than creature since they don't have to choose until the World Queller's ability resolves.

The MtG comprehensive rules and the search function (ctrl+f) can answer all your questions as long as you are good with picking out keywords. That being said there is no reason to reference 20 rules about timing and priority when 116.1a and 116.2e are the only relevant ones.

Oloro_Magic on Can I Flicker in response ...

2 months ago

In the case of World Queller you can respond to the sac as it is taken as a resolution of an ability. In other words, your opponent activates the ability of World Queller and from there priority passes to you and you are able to respond to the sac trigger. If the sac happens via something like Vampire Hexmage as part of a cost then you would not hold priority as the ability resolves.

Essentially think of the stack like this: your opponent activates the ability of World Queller, priority then passes to you, here you may chose to flicker, if you don't the ability resolves and you must chose a permanent to sac, because World Queller doesn't target Eerie Interlude is a good work around to it.

With Vampire Hexmage you sac as a cost and once you activate the ability you no longer have priority and if your opponent passes priority the ability resolves without giving you the option to respond.

I have attached the comprehensive rules on priority below:

  1. Timing and Priority

116.1. Unless a spell or ability is instructing a player to take an action, which player can take actions at any given time is determined by a system of priority. The player with priority may cast spells, activate abilities, and take special actions.

116.1a A player may cast an instant spell any time he or she has priority. A player may cast a noninstant spell during his or her main phase any time he or she has priority and the stack is empty.

116.1b A player may activate an activated ability any time he or she has priority.

116.1c A player may take some special actions any time he or she has priority. A player may take other special actions during his or her main phase any time he or she has priority and the stack is empty. See rule 115, Special Actions.

116.1d A player may activate a mana ability whenever he or she has priority, whenever he or she is casting a spell or activating an ability that requires a mana payment, or whenever a rule or effect asks for a mana payment (even in the middle of casting or resolving a spell or activating or resolving an ability).

116.2. Other kinds of abilities and actions are automatically generated or performed by the game rules, or are performed by players without receiving priority.

116.2a Triggered abilities can trigger at any time, including while a spell is being cast, an ability is being activated, or a spell or ability is resolving. (See rule 603, Handling Triggered Abilities.) However, nothing actually happens at the time an ability triggers. Each time a player would receive priority, each ability that has triggered but hasnt yet been put on the stack is put on the stack. See rule 116.5.

116.2b Static abilities continuously affect the game. Priority doesnt apply to them. (See rule 604, Handling Static Abilities, and rule 611, Continuous Effects.)

116.2c Turn-based actions happen automatically when certain steps or phases begin. Theyre dealt with before a player would receive priority. See rule

116.3a. Turn-based actions also happen automatically when each step and phase ends; no player receives priority afterward. See rule 703, Turn-Based Actions.

116.2d State-based actions happen automatically when certain conditions are met. See rule 704. Theyre dealt with before a player would receive priority. See rule 116.5.

116.2e Resolving spells and abilities may instruct players to make choices or take actions, or may allow players to activate mana abilities. Even if a player is doing so, no player has priority while a spell or ability is resolving. See rule 608, Resolving Spells and Abilities.

116.3. Which player has priority is determined by the following rules:

116.3a The active player receives priority at the beginning of most steps and phases, after any turn-based actions (such as drawing a card during the draw step; see rule 703) have been dealt with and abilities that trigger at the beginning of that phase or step have been put on the stack. No player receives priority during the untap step. Players usually dont get priority during the cleanup step (see rule 514.3).

116.3b The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) resolves.

116.3c If a player has priority when he or she casts a spell, activates an ability, or takes a special action, that player receives priority afterward.

116.3d If a player has priority and chooses not to take any actions, that player passes. If any mana is in that players mana pool, he or she announces what mana is there. Then the next player in turn order receives priority.

116.4. If all players pass in succession (that is, if all players pass without taking any actions in between passing), the spell or ability on top of the stack resolves or, if the stack is empty, the phase or step ends.

116.5. Each time a player would get priority, the game first performs all applicable state-based actions as a single event (see rule 704, State-Based Actions), then repeats this process until no state-based actions are performed. Then triggered abilities are put on the stack (see rule 603, Handling Triggered Abilities). These steps repeat in order until no further state-based actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the player who would have received priority does so.

116.6. In a multiplayer game using the shared team turns option, teams rather than individual players have priority. See rule 805, Shared Team Turns Option.

116.7. If a player with priority casts a spell or activates an activated ability while another spell or ability is already on the stack, the new spell or ability has been cast or activated in response to the earlier spell or ability. The new spell or ability will resolve first. See rule 608, Resolving Spells and Abilities.

speedchicken29 on Can I Flicker in response ...

2 months ago

Situation:Opponent has a World Queller and chooses creature.I have two creatures out.

Can I sacrifice one and then use some flicker ability like Cloud Shift so that I don't sacrifice anything?

Winterblast on Please Hold (Oloro Stax)

2 months ago

Well you have three lands that don't produce any mana and bojuka bog, which you don't just want to play without a reason. This leaves you with 31 lands...and I meant if you don't count sol ring and mana crypt (because that's an auto include anyway) there is no accelerating mana artifact in the deck. Signets, Talismans and everything, that's all just color fixing but not acceleration because they cost more than they produce.

There are 4 cards in the whole deck, which you can possibly play on turn 1: sol ring, mana crypt, swan song, force of will (you don't Need angel's grace on turn 1). I don't think I have overlooked anything. Chances are high that you play absolutely nothing on turn 1.
You have 7 Cards for turn 2 plus 3 mana rocks for 2 mana, so that's 10 Cards in total of which 3 do nothing besides getting 4 mana on turn 3.
As you have no lands that produce more than one mana (such as Ancient Tomb, City of Traitors, Mishra's Workshop, Crystal Vein) this means that you have not even 15 Cards to play in the first two turns and some of these cards are counterspells, so you need a useful target for these as well. The conclusion: you won't play anything of interest before turn 3 at best, which is definitely too slow for stax.

If you Need to get Cards back from your graveyard, stuff like Academy Ruins or Sun Titan is fine as well. There's also Timetwister and the cheap Version Day's Undoing and they also fill the Hand again. I'd even play the colorless planeswalkers karn and ugin over a big eldrazi in a stax deck, simply because you get more for your mana. The Situation you described with cataclysm and kozilek can be achieved with World Queller too, just for less mana.

Why I argue for cutting damping Matrix is because it prevents you from adding a good Combo to the deck. like landofMordor already said, you have no way of quickly ending the game, unless the oppoents concede (which is only realistic when a lock seems to be unbreakable), your creatures and token producing Cards could be useless because of humility (and there are situations in which you can't just bounce or remove humility again if you don't want to lose on the spot) and then you can try to overrun everyone with 1/1s. A noncreature Combo would be perfect in such a deck, but most Options Need an activation of an artifact. Mechanized Production is a reasonable choice if you want to Keep the Matrix, but for everything else it would be stronger to Exchange that one disruptive Card in favour of a Combo.

It also has to be noted that if you play in a meta in which People have a similar Budget available, you won't be able to create anything near a hardlock with this deck. you'd rather think of the strategy as slowing everyone else down so much that you can set up your kill, whatever it is then. forcing the Opponent to concede with this build is not going to happen, unless you either have an extremely lucky draw, or your Opponent has a deck that is several power Levels below yours. tutoring up a Combo after putting some obstacles on the board is definitely going to work, just that you don't have a Combo in the deck yet

MaelstromMaxima on Astaxa. Fun for the whole family

2 months ago

Rzepkanut Hey, thanks for the suggestions.

Drownyard Temple is a card that I missed, and will probably add to the list. World Queller feels too clunky and fragile (being a creature) to be on this list. It also doesn't seem to do a lot. Brago, King Eternal I might consider adding this too, although I don't really like to have too many creatures. Dissipation Field & No Mercy, possibly adding either of them. They both seem to do their job. Phyrexian Metamorph or Clever Impersonator. I don't know about these two. Sure, they might be great, but I feel that they also might be a tad bit too clunky to be played.
The 'I steal yo creatures' cards might work, but that would probably have to be Desertion in that case, since the other two doesn't feel like they add a lot to the gameplay of the deck. Sun Titan is just another creature, a strong one however. Maybe.. Crucible of Worlds would play it, if it wasn't for its huge pricetag. Ramunap Excavator is another creature. Mana Web sits in my maybeboard, and might get thrown in, depending on how my deck turns out. Displacement Wave, I've never been much for cards with costs. So this card doesn't seem so appealing to me.

Load more