Aftermath (Cast this spell only from your graveyard. Then exile it.) Target creature gains double strike until end of turn.

Browse Alters View at Gatherer

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Amonkhet (AKH) Uncommon

Combos Browse all


Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
2019-10-04 Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Pioneer Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Frontier Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Victory Discussion

scotchtapedsleeves on Onward Victory??

2 years ago

Yeah, you can totally do that! You just need to have the 6 mana open to be able to play it. It acts like two different cards, sort of, so when you play the Onward, you can then play the Victory once it hits the grave!

multimedia on Onward Victory??

2 years ago

Yes, you can play both Onward and Victory on the same turn if you have six mana this includes one red and one white mana. However, you can only cast Onward at instant speed. Victory is a sorcery not an instant. Like all aftermath cards you would first cast Onward then put the card into the graveyard, then cast Victory side of the card and then exile the card.

To use both on the same turn to pump up Ghalta for a massive attack you can only cast both at your pre-combat main phase before any attacking has happened. Since Victory is a sorcery it can only be cast from the graveyard on one of your main phases.

Thuking on Onward Victory??

2 years ago

Can I play onward and victory on the same turn? so something like on turn 5 I would use Onward onto Ghalta, Primal Hunger then Victory by tapping Drover of the Mighty for white and swing for 24 double strike?Fling 2

Ithyn on

2 years ago

backinajiffy If you look at the reminder text for afflict it says "defending player loses _ life." Damage causes life loss, but direct life loss means no damage is dealt. Since afflict causes life to be lost directly, it can't be doubled by damage doublers.

munky702 I think As Foretold is probably too slow for what you're trying to do. Aether Hub for Victory might be worth trying out, though.

gigagloin on Vanquisher's Banner + The Locust ...

2 years ago

You are not casting Insect spells, creating tokens is something else.

Casting refers to actually playing spells from your hand after paying their mana costs. Some cards allow you to cast from exile or the graveyard but that will be part of their rules text (eg Torrential Gearhulk, Victory). Cards that come into play due to an ability usually are not cast (Arbiter of the Ideal), but there are exceptions (Spawnsire of Ulamog).

Moby_Copperfield on All things Wolven

2 years ago

DarkStarStormThe card you're thinking of is Onward to Victory.

An alternative to Uncaged Fury.

I'm sure it's been mentioned before, but another Aftermath card that looks interesting is Insult to Injury. It doesn't trigger Silverfur though.

djnewellmit on Hasteodile Cartouche

2 years ago

If you swap Deathcap Cultivator for Servant of the Conduit, you can get some white mana to cast Victory or Samut's ability. But I can understand if you're going for the deathtouch with your Trial of Strength.

Izu_Korasu on Flingatog

2 years ago

Fragmentize/Victory isnt worth the added complexity of tricolor, but Cut is worth looking at.

Marionette Master can help fill the missing 2x slots in the mainboard and provides a non-fling/less counterable way of winning.

without the cat combo, Incendiary Flow/Magma Spray are better then shock for the current meta.