Unhallowed Cathar


Loyal Cathar  Flip

Unhallowed Cathar

Creature — Zombie Soldier

Unhallowed Cathar can't block.

Browse Alters View at Gatherer

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Dark Ascension (DKA) Common

Combos Browse all


Format Legality
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Vintage Legal
Limited Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Modern Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Leviathan Legal
Block Constructed Legal
2019-10-04 Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Legacy Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Highlander Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal

Latest Decks as Commander

Latest Decks

Unhallowed Cathar Discussion

dragonstryke58 on Transform card Rule question

4 years ago

To further expand on Epochalyptik's response, basically the color indicator is usually there on permanents without a mana cost to determine color (since the mana cost is what gives spells and permanents color).

204.1. The color indicator is printed to the left of the type line directly below the illustration. It consists of a circular symbol filled in with one or more colors. A color indicator is usually found on nonland cards without a mana cost.204.2. An object with a color indicator is each color denoted by that color indicator.

Typically, you would use the card's mana cost to determine color (and not the border of the card)...

202.2. An object is the color or colors of the mana symbols in its mana cost, regardless of the color of its frame.

..but because transformed cards (such as the Unhallowed Cathar  Flip) have no mana costs, they rely on the color indicator to give them the characteristic of color while on the battlefield.

Epochalyptik on Transform card Rule question

4 years ago

@PistonGolem: Color identity is a different idea used only in the Commander format.

The dot to the left of a double-faced card (DFC)'s type line is called a color indicator. As you might expect, it indicates the color of that face of the card. Unhallowed Cathar  Flip's back face has a black color indicator, so it's a black creature.

@Faceless_Being: You had it right up until the last bit there. The card Loyal Cathar  Flip has two sets of characteristics. The front face is white. In all zones other than the battlefield, this card is white at all times (the back face of a DFC doesn't exist in other zones). The back face is black. The card's color is dependent on where the card is and, if it's on the battlefield, which face is up.

The card's color identity, which includes both faces, is white and black. However, color identity is only relevant in Commander.

Faceless_Being on Transform card Rule question

4 years ago

As far as I know each side counts as Mono. Loyal Cathar  Flip is Mono- while on the front side whilst Unhallowed Cathar  Flip is Mono- on the back and the card, as a whole, is considered .

PistonGolem on Transform card Rule question

4 years ago

See that dot on the side of the Unhallowed Cathar  Flip? That is called its color identity. If the dot is black, then the card identifies as black. On the front, the card is white. Loyal Cathar  Flip is affected, but Unhallowed Cathar  Flip is not. Basically, it changes colors.

freddiepeddi on Transform card Rule question

4 years ago


I have a question about how the transform mechanic works,

If i have a creature like Loyal Cathar  Flip for example. He dies and is transformed into Unhallowed Cathar  Flip

Is he still a white creature or is he a black one?

Is Unhallowed Cathar  Flip affected by cards like Guardians' Pledge for example?