Stormwild Capridor

Stormwild Capridor

Creature — Bird Goat

Flying

If noncombat damage would be dealt to Stormwild Capridor, prevent that damage. Put a +1/+1 counter on Stormwild Capridor for each 1 damage prevented this way.

Browse Alters

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths (IKO) Uncommon

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Pioneer Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Magic Duels Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Leviathan Legal
Vintage Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Arena Legal
Frontier Legal
Standard Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Casual Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Brawl Legal
Modern Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Pre-release Legal
Unformat Legal
Legacy Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal

Stormwild Capridor Discussion

Rhadamanthus on Solar Blaze Not Damage?

5 days ago

seaplain If Stormwild Capridor went from 12/14 to 24/26 then there's no bug. Arena is just making a decision instead of letting you make a decision.

As Tylord2894 explained, if more than one prevention and/or replacement effect is trying to modify how an event would affect an object, the affected object's controller decides which one to apply.

  • In your example there are 2 effects trying to modify how damage would be dealt to the Capridor: the Capridor's own ability and Gideon's Sacrifice. Under the standard rules of the game you would get to choose which one to apply
  • If you apply the Sacrifice's effect first then the Capridor's effect can't apply because there's no longer any damage being dealt to it
  • Likewise, if you apply the Capridor's effect first then the Sacrifice's effect can't apply because the damage was prevented
  • However, in your example the Arena rules engine is choosing for you instead of letting you choose. It seems to be prioritizing the creature's own effect over other effects (that's also why you get the result you saw with Gideon Blackblade)

seaplain on Solar Blaze Not Damage?

5 days ago

Rhadamanthus That is correct, each creature did damage to itself, and then Truefire Captain directed 4 damage. Stormwild Capridor went from a 12/14 to a 24/26. Stormwild Capridor's ability acted as if Gideon's Sacrifice was never played. I believe that is why Tylord2894 mentioned it being an issue with the order of redirect abilities resolving.

Rhadamanthus on Solar Blaze Not Damage?

5 days ago

seaplain Maybe I didn't understand part of your original situation. Do you mean Stormwild Capridor actually dealt 12 damage to itself and its ability didn't prevent any of it? If so that means the engine isn't considering the damage the creatures deal to themselves as non-combat damage, which is definitely a bug.

seaplain on Solar Blaze Not Damage?

5 days ago

Rhadamanthus I thought it did but I realized I had only ever tried directing damage TO Stormwild Capridor, which works, but not away.

I was just testing it again and I had Gideon Blackblade and Brash Taunter out. I played Gideon's Sacrifice on the taunter and played Storm's Wrath. It only dealt 4 damage to my opponent rather than the 8 I expected, although no damage was done to Gideon. Seems to be a stacking issue with any damage and redirect.

My original issue still doesn't make sense to me though because Solar Blaze still dealt damage to all my creatures, at least this new time prevented damage to Gideon.

Rhadamanthus on Solar Blaze Not Damage?

6 days ago

It's not really a "bug", it's just Arena's game engine making a choice one way when it could have been made the other way. I'm not familiar with Arena so I don't know if it's even capable of letting you make the choice for situations like this versus making the choice itself.

Are you saying Deafening Clarion and Storm's Wrath do produce the interaction you want with Stormwild Capridor + Gideon's Sacrifice?

Tylord2894 on Solar Blaze Not Damage?

6 days ago

Ya, I would recommend submitting a ticket. As far as Stormwild Capridor and Gideon's Sacrifice are concerned, there is no difference between the damage from something like Deafening Clarion and Solar Blaze.

Tylord2894 on Solar Blaze Not Damage?

6 days ago

In short, this is a bug on Arena. You should be able to choose what happens here. This outcome is legal, but the reason why doesn't follow the rules.

When you resolve Solar Blaze, there are multiple replacement effects affecting the damage to Stormwild Capridor, namely these effects are the Capridor's replacement effect and the replacement effect from Gideon's Sacrifice. When multiple replacement effects are trying to replace the same event, certain replacement effects are applied before others. In this case, these two replacement effects have the same level of "importance" and the controller of the affected creature chooses the order they apply/which one applies. You, as the controller of the Capridor, should be able to choose whether the Capridor's prevention effect or the Sacrifice's "redirection" effect takes over.

I've included the relevant rules below. I did not include the "order of importance" rules for replacement effects as they don't really affect this, but you can read through it between rules 616.1a-e (found here).

Hope this helps!!

120.4b Second, damage is dealt, as modified by replacement and prevention effects that interact with damage. (See rule 614, “Replacement Effects,” and rule 615, “Prevention Effects.”) Abilities that trigger when damage is dealt trigger now and wait to be put on the stack.

616.1. If two or more replacement and/or prevention effects are attempting to modify the way an event affects an object or player, the affected object’s controller (or its owner if it has no controller) or the affected player chooses one to apply, following the steps listed below. If two or more players have to make these choices at the same time, choices are made in APNAP order (see rule 101.4).

seaplain on Solar Blaze Not Damage?

6 days ago

on MTG Arena, I had Stormwild Capridor out with 12 power and Truefire Captain. I played Gideon's Sacrifice targeting the truefire, then played Solar Blaze. I expected it to deal 16 damage to truefire, but instead it did 12 to stormwild and 4 to truefire. Does solar blaze not count as damage the way gideon's sac is worded? Why would stormwild still get hit with the damage?

Load more