Shapeshifter

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Oldschool 93/94 Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Masters Edition IV (ME4) Uncommon
Fifth Edition (5ED) Uncommon
Fourth Edition (4ED) Uncommon
4th Edition Foreign Black Border (4EDFBB) Uncommon
Antiquities (ATQ) Rare

Combos Browse all

Shapeshifter

Artifact Creature — Shapeshifter

As Shapeshifter enters the battlefield, choose a number between 0 and 7.

At the beginning of your upkeep, you may choose a number between 0 and 7.

Shapeshifter's power is equal to the last chosen number and its toughness is equal to 7 minus that number.

Shapeshifter Discussion

Colgate on Scarab God on weird stuff

2 years ago

"613.1. The values of an objects characteristics are determined by starting with the actual object. For a card, that means the values of the characteristics printed on that card. For a token or a copy of a spell or card, that means the values of the characteristics defined by the effect that created it. Then all applicable continuous effects are applied in a series of layers in the following order:"

"706.9d When applying a copy effect that doesnt copy a certain characteristic, retains an original value for a certain characteristic, or modifies the final value of a certain characteristic, any characteristic-defining ability (see rule 604.3) of the object being copied that defines that characteristic is not copied. If that characteristic is color, any color indicator (see rule 204) of that object is also not copied."

So for each one of them we start with the effect that created the token aka The Scarab God's ability. So Kruphix, God of Horizons would look like this. Angry Mob would be simply 4/4 Black Zombie with trample. Sakashima's Student 4/4 Black Zombie with student's copy ability if you choose to not copy anything, if you choose to copy it's copy except it is Ninja in addition to it's other creature types. Shapeshifter you keep choosing numbers but it has no longer it's CDA defining P/T. Rune-Tail, Kitsune Ascendant may flip. It stays Black, if it flips.

Rhadamanthus on Scarab God on weird stuff

2 years ago

If a copy effect specifically says it either doesn't copy or otherwise replaces a certain characteristic of the original then it will also ignore any characteristic-defining abilities (CDAs) related to that characteristic. Because the copy effect generated by The Scarab God says "except it's a 4/4 black Zombie", this means it will not copy any CDAs related to P/T, color, or creature subtype.

  • Kruphix, God of Horizons will be a 4/4 black Legendary Enchantment Creature - Zombie who isn't a creature if you don't have enough devotion
  • The 2nd ability of Angry Mob is a CDA for P/T, so it won't be copied. It will always be a 4/4
  • If you choose to apply Sakashima's Student's own copy effect as it enters the battlefield then it will overwrite the results of the effect that created the token. It will be a copy of whatever you chose but also a Ninja
  • You have the right idea about Shapeshifter. It will stay a 4/4 regardless of what number is chosen
  • A copy of a flip-card will have all the rules text from both halves of the original, and a token is allowed to get the "flipped" status. The copy of Rune-Tail, Kitsune Ascendant will be a 4/4 black Zombie while unflipped and a black enchantment while flipped

chosenone124 on Scarab God on weird stuff

2 years ago

Let's say the Scarab God copies Kruphix, God of Horizons with insufficient devotion. What are the characteristics of the copy?

Does Angry Mob get his bottom ability copied?

If I copy Sakashima's Student, do I choose which copy effect takes precedence, or does Scarab God's "except" clause override copy clauses?

If I copy Shapeshifter will I choose a number every upkeep, but its power and toughness are unnaffected?

If I copy Rune-Tail, Kitsune Ascendant, can it flip?

UniqueUserID on When token names are the ...

3 years ago

I've been doing a bit of research around Spy Kit seeing if what token "names" it can actually create. I was surprised to find it had a few! Such as the Crib Swap token has the same name as Shapeshifter and Urza's Factory and Assembly-Worker.

So the following questions all have to do with these "token names" and creature names, cause I'm not sure how many of these play out!

1) Does using Mask of the Mimic allow me to tutor out ANY card with the same name, such as Splinter from a token from Splintering Wind?

2) if I cast Runed Halo naming "Shapeshifter", it would give me protection from the terrifying Shapeshifter AND the token made from Crib Swap?

3) Cards like Pack Hunt, Retraced Image and Bifurcate do not card about card type, just name. So using them on a Spinter token from Splintering Wind means I can search for Splinter?

4) And finally, if I was to Donate any artifact creature or artifact token with Spy Kit equipped on it, then use Splinter on it. Does it exile ALL their creatures (non-legends) in the deck, hand and graveyard??

TheRedMage on How does runed halo interact ...

3 years ago

Tokens that magic can make with the same name as a card include Splinter, Assembly-Worker, Pack Rat, Illusion, Shapeshifter, whatever your opponent enchanted with Progenitor Mimic, and the tokens made by the Future Sight cycle of spellshapers (Llanowar Elves, Goldmeadow Harrier, Llanowar Elves, Cloud Sprite, Festering Goblin, Metallic Sliver, Spark Elemental).

In most cases though, the name of a token is not also the name of a card, and can't be named to Runed Halo since it specifically says to "name a card".

If you want to see this horse thoroughly beaten to death you can also look one of the We Have to Go Deeper articles where I talk about card names.

No data for this card yet.