Setessan Oathsworn

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vintage Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Custom Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Noble Legal
Hero Legal
Magic Duels Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
MTGO Legal
Vanguard Legal
Leviathan Legal
Planechase Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Heirloom Legal
Modern Legal
Pauper Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Casual Legal
Oathbreaker Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Born of the Gods (BNG) Common

Combos Browse all

Setessan Oathsworn

Creature — Satyr

Heroic -- Whenever you cast a spell that targets Setessan Oathsworn, put two +1/+1 counters on Setessan Oathsworn.

Setessan Oathsworn Discussion

mal099 on golgari pumping pauper

1 month ago

I really feel like you're using too much ramp in this deck. Your mana curve is so low, I really don't see a situation where a card like Cultivate could be useful for you, you'll just never need 5 mana in one turn. Even if you use it for mana fixing, Jungle Hollow would be much better for this purpose, as it doesn't force you to pay so much mana when playing it. A few more heroic creatures, like Setessan Oathsworn , might also be useful.

Lastly, yes, Tyrant's Choice is legal according to Scryfall, which is generally the best resource for such things.

Magicaids on Saturn somersaults

4 months ago

Looking in to the list and what I can see there is a good 3 and 4 drop in green that give themselves two counters Setessan Oathsworn , Staunch-Hearted Warrior and a five drop but that is up to you Pheres-Band Thunderhoof but what do you think

griffstick on Does the Heroic trigger work ...

7 months ago

With Mirrorwing Dragon and or zada

Say for instance I have a Agent of the Fates, Ashiok's Adept, Setessan Oathsworn and Mirrorwing Dragon in play and I play Bounty of Might targeting Mirrorwing Dragon, that triggers Mirrorwing Dragon, you then copy the spell 3 times, and target your 3 heroic creatures 3 times. That alone is awesome but, I dont think that's a heroic trigger at all am I right?

lagotripha on A Satyr Deck Exists Now.

1 year ago

Nyxborn Rollicker is surprisingly functional in heroic setups. Satyr Firedancer is pretty close to unplayable, unless you have a Basilisk Collar. Reckless Reveler is pretty much sideboardable, given the other options. Setessan Oathsworn is almost playable, if you desperatly abuse Shimmering Wings and Arcanum Wings with the occasional Eldrazi Conscription.

-Abraxas- on The Smell of Death, Yum! Black Green Aggro

1 year ago

Ok I see what you're talking about. The only problem (and I don't mean to be a wet blanket, just trying to help) unfortunaly Blinding Fog doesn't actually target Setessan Oathsworn so his Heroic ability wouldn't be able to give him +1/+1 counters. The trick is to look for the word "target" in the spell you're casting. In this case Blinding Fog isn't targeting anything, it's just applying an effect to creatures on the board. If, however, you were to cast Might of Old Krosa or Giant Growth targeting Setessan Oathsworn he would absolutely gain +1/+1 counters. Another way to know if a spell is targeting without saying target is if the rules of the mechanic already require it. So even though Rancor doesn't say "target" you have to target a creature to be enchanted before you can cast it anyway.

Neotrup on If I remove the +1/+1 ...

1 year ago

If the Forest is a 0/0 elemental creature as your question implies, it will be put into the graveyard for having 0 toughness. If your Forest is not a creatures and only has 4 +1/+1 counters by happenstance, you cannot target it with Bioshift. If your forest is a creature with base toughness greater than 0, it will survive the counters being moved and still be a creature.

If the Forest is a 0/0 elemental creature you can also use Bioshift to only move 3 of the counters so it survives with the 1 remaining counter. Setessan Oathsworn doesn't grow quiet as large, but you still trigger Heroic so it's getting 5 counters when all is said and done which is a pretty big boost for 1 mana.

MERSiOfficial on If I remove the +1/+1 ...

1 year ago

If have a Forest with 4, +1/+1 counters on it, but I want to use Bioshift to move them to a Setessan Oathsworn for Example.

Is the land destroyed from the removal of all the counters, or does it convert back to a standard land?

My assumptions are that the land would be destroyed.

Many thanks in advance!

Load more

No data for this card yet.