Nicol Bolas, the Arisen

Front:

Nicol Bolas, the Ravager  Flip

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Standard Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Brawl Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Core Set 2019 (M19) Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Nicol Bolas, the Arisen

Legendary Planeswalker — Bolas

+2: Draw two cards.

-3: Nicol Bolas, the Arisen deals 10 damage to target creature or planeswalker.

-4: Put target creature or planeswalker card from a graveyard onto the battlefield under your control.

-12: Exile all but the bottom card of target player's library.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

Ebay

Have (1) Laertesss
Want (0)

Nicol Bolas, the Arisen Discussion

Sismir on is the legen rule killing ...

1 week ago

if i have to planeswalkers of the same name example Nicol Bolas, the Arisen and Nicol Bolas, the Deceiver, is it the kegend rule that does one of them die. and can i keep them both with Mirror Gallery?

Gidgetimer on Copy of Accursed Witch Interaction

1 month ago

Nicol Bolas, the Ravager  Flip and Withengar Unbound enter the battlefield with their back sides up (so as Nicol Bolas, the Arisen and Withengar Unbound) as per 711.8 and not attached to anything per 303.4h.

711.8. A double-faced card enters the battlefield with its front face up by default. If a spell or ability puts it onto the battlefield “transformed,” it enters the battlefield with its back face up.

303.4h If an effect attempts to put a permanent that isn’t an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification onto the battlefield attached to an object or player, it enters the battlefield unattached.

Nicol Bolas remains in the graveyard per 711.8a.

711.8a If a player is instructed to put a card that isn’t a double-faced card onto the battlefield transformed, that card stays in its current zone.

TypicalTimmy on Kindly asks for some advice

2 months ago

"strong enough to make up the turn lost to play him?"

This is a big question to ask. May I make a few points?

  • 1.) Let's be honest here: You'll be using his +1 more frequently than his -3. Focusing on this, yes the ability to manipulate your deck is great. You've also got this covered via Jace, the Mind Sculptor and can draw off of Nicol Bolas, the Arisen.

  • 2.) He hits hard with his -3, but only if you have enough spells to make it worth while. By turn 5, 6 or even 7 are you going to have enough spells in your graveyard to make him have a decent impact?

  • 3.) His emblem is outstanding, no doubt about that. But... There's a better card, in my opinion.

Chandra, Torch of Defiance.

  • 1.) She's cheaper. Comes out sooner. That's everything.

  • 2.) She has 4 abilities. More flexibility in this regards.

  • 3.) Ral comes out at 5 and will be 6 by turn's end. Three more turns to ult. If you hit him T5, he'll ult at T8. Meanwhile, Chandra comes out at 4 on T4 and becomes 5 at turn's end. She ults at 7. You can get her ultimate off at T7, one full turn sooner then Ral's.

  • 4.) Her 2nd +1 allows you to play the cards you draw into with Jace's 0 or Bolas' +2 while still moving her loyalty upward.

  • 5.) Her -3 isn't contingent on the number of spells you have in your graveyard, thus opponent's can't snuff you out with graveyard exile. You hit a solid 5 - (one point more damage than Ral's, btw) each and every time. It may not be 5 or 6 or 7 that Ral "could" hit, but that's the thing: "could" is not "will".

  • 6.) Chandra's emblem is functionally identical to Ral's albeit draw. You can pick up draw elsewhere. She's hitting for 5 with each spell. Suppose you hit with one Lightning Bolt and one Fatal Push. That's 13 damage and a creature removal for and . Likewise, if you really want draw that bad, you can always do something like Sign in Blood, hit them for 5 and still get +2 cards.

I just personally think Chandra, Torch of Defiance is an overall more well-rounded Planeswalker.

Rhadamanthus on Can a double-faced card copying ...

4 months ago

It can transform, but depending on the specific cards involved you might not get the result you're going for.

As you said in your question, only double-faced cards can transform and a copy effect will overwrite whatever face is currently showing. This means if you turn Nicol Bolas, the Ravager  Flip into a copy of Thing in the Ice  Flip and transform it, the card itself will turn over to the Nicol Bolas, the Arisen side but will still be a Thing in the Ice  Flip. If you remove Metamorphic Alteration then you have a problem: a planeswalker with no loyalty counters (because it didn't re-enter the battlefield), which will be put directly into the graveyard.

However, if you turn Bolas into a copy of Liliana, Heretical Healer  Flip instead and trigger the ability, you follow the "exile and return transformed" instructions and get a planeswalker Bolas with the proper starting loyalty.

Phaetion on Exciting Cards in M19

5 months ago

Also, Nicol Bolas, the Arisen's art reminds me too much of a certain character when he laughed.

enter image description here

Latest Commander