Nicol Bolas, the Arisen

Front:

Nicol Bolas, the Ravager  Flip

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Custom Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Arena Legal
Standard Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Brawl Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Core Set 2019 (M19) Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Nicol Bolas, the Arisen

Legendary Planeswalker — Bolas

+2: Draw two cards.

-3: Nicol Bolas, the Arisen deals 10 damage to target creature or planeswalker.

-4: Put target creature or planeswalker card from a graveyard onto the battlefield under your control.

-12: Exile all but the bottom card of target player's library.

Nicol Bolas, the Arisen Discussion

TypicalTimmy on Card creation challenge

6 days ago

Davriel, Contract Killer

Legendary Creature - Human Shade

Shadow (This creature can block or be blocked by only creatures with shadow.)

Whenever Davriel, Contract Killer deals combat damage to an opponent you may sacrifice a creature. If you do, that opponent also sacrifices a creature. Then put a contract counter on Davriel, Contract Killer. Then if Davriel, Contract Killer has four or more contract counters on him, exile him and return him to the battlefield transformed.

Let's make a deal...

4/3


Davriel, He Who Binds

Legendary Planeswalker - Davriel

+1 Put a contract counter on a permanent you control and a permanent your opponent controls. Those permanents become Shadowbound (If one of those permanents would be destroyed, they are both destroyed. The same is true for returning to their owner's hand, being moved into their libraries, being exiled, being sacrificed, etc.)

-1 Choose one: Destroy, Exile, or Sacrifice a permanent you control with a contract counter on it. You lose 3 life.

-7 Remove all contract counters from all permanents and each player sacrifice all of them. Each opponent loses life equal to the total amount of counters removed in this way and you gain that much life. If that value is 10 or more, each opponent discards their hands and you draw 5 cards.

3


Make an Oathbreaker that supports Superfriends (See: Ajani Unyielding , Ajani, Mentor of Heroes , Ajani, the Greathearted , Kasmina, Enigmatic Mentor , Nicol Bolas, Dragon-God , Nicol Bolas, the Arisen , Samut, the Tested , Sarkhan the Masterless , Sorin, Vengeful Bloodlord , Teferi, Temporal Archmage , Tezzeret, Master of the Bridge , & Will Kenrith )

saluma on How do I deal with ...

4 months ago

Hello Im playing a grixis control deck, Bolas competative control and I would like some help / advise on what to sideboard to deal with Emrakul, the Aeons Torn . If my opponent tries to cast if via Through the Breach I could just counter the breach. However that only solves the problem until he/she gets enough mana to hard-cast it anyways because Through the Breach decks tend to be very rampy. The same problem comes with tron. They will eventually get enough mana to hard-cast Emrakul, the Aeons Torn because my goal is to use Jace, the Mind Sculptor , Nicol Bolas, the Arisen or Liliana, the Last Hope ultimate abilities to win, and that takes some time.

Im very greatful for any help and advice I can get. Thanks in advance! :)

cdkime on New to MTG and could ...

5 months ago

I am a big fan of SynergyBuild's suggestion, and will be posting a couple thoughts on the recently-posted list.


Adding to the list of absolutely broken cards that you can run four copies of, Gitaxian Probe is outstanding, regardless of what colours you are playing. Two life is insignificant when compared to drawing another card, and can help you quickly dig for your combo pieces.


With regards to Nicol Bolas, the Arisen, you and your friends seem to have made a mistake as to how milling a player works. You do not lose the game for having zero cards in your deck--you lose the game when you try to draw a card, but are unable to do so due to having no cards in-hand.

Nicol Bolas, the Arisen's -12 ability leaves you with one card in your library. On your next draw step, you will have 0 cards in your library, but, unless you are forced to draw, you have not yet lost the game. You will, however, lose the game on your next draw step/if you are forced to draw a card.

So, how do you counter this strategy?

  1. You can remove Nicol Bolas before he transforms.

  2. Reaching 12 loyalty points is difficult, and you can always attack Nicol Bolas to prevent this from occurring.

  3. Related to the above, winning the game first. SynergyBuild's plan can win really early (without a banlist, you can probably consistently win on turn 1-2).

  4. You can make it so you no longer draw cards. Abundance, for example, does not cause you to draw cards--you directly put the cards in your hand. Because you are not "drawing" your last card, the replacement effect from Abundance will keep you from losing the game due to mill.

Sismir on is the legen rule killing ...

6 months ago

if i have to planeswalkers of the same name example Nicol Bolas, the Arisen and Nicol Bolas, the Deceiver, is it the kegend rule that does one of them die. and can i keep them both with Mirror Gallery?

Gidgetimer on Copy of Accursed Witch Interaction

7 months ago

Nicol Bolas, the Ravager  Flip and Withengar Unbound enter the battlefield with their back sides up (so as Nicol Bolas, the Arisen and Withengar Unbound) as per 711.8 and not attached to anything per 303.4h.

711.8. A double-faced card enters the battlefield with its front face up by default. If a spell or ability puts it onto the battlefield “transformed,” it enters the battlefield with its back face up.

303.4h If an effect attempts to put a permanent that isn’t an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification onto the battlefield attached to an object or player, it enters the battlefield unattached.

Nicol Bolas remains in the graveyard per 711.8a.

711.8a If a player is instructed to put a card that isn’t a double-faced card onto the battlefield transformed, that card stays in its current zone.

TypicalTimmy on Kindly asks for some advice

8 months ago

"strong enough to make up the turn lost to play him?"

This is a big question to ask. May I make a few points?

  • 1.) Let's be honest here: You'll be using his +1 more frequently than his -3. Focusing on this, yes the ability to manipulate your deck is great. You've also got this covered via Jace, the Mind Sculptor and can draw off of Nicol Bolas, the Arisen.

  • 2.) He hits hard with his -3, but only if you have enough spells to make it worth while. By turn 5, 6 or even 7 are you going to have enough spells in your graveyard to make him have a decent impact?

  • 3.) His emblem is outstanding, no doubt about that. But... There's a better card, in my opinion.

Chandra, Torch of Defiance.

  • 1.) She's cheaper. Comes out sooner. That's everything.

  • 2.) She has 4 abilities. More flexibility in this regards.

  • 3.) Ral comes out at 5 and will be 6 by turn's end. Three more turns to ult. If you hit him T5, he'll ult at T8. Meanwhile, Chandra comes out at 4 on T4 and becomes 5 at turn's end. She ults at 7. You can get her ultimate off at T7, one full turn sooner then Ral's.

  • 4.) Her 2nd +1 allows you to play the cards you draw into with Jace's 0 or Bolas' +2 while still moving her loyalty upward.

  • 5.) Her -3 isn't contingent on the number of spells you have in your graveyard, thus opponent's can't snuff you out with graveyard exile. You hit a solid 5 - (one point more damage than Ral's, btw) each and every time. It may not be 5 or 6 or 7 that Ral "could" hit, but that's the thing: "could" is not "will".

  • 6.) Chandra's emblem is functionally identical to Ral's albeit draw. You can pick up draw elsewhere. She's hitting for 5 with each spell. Suppose you hit with one Lightning Bolt and one Fatal Push. That's 13 damage and a creature removal for and . Likewise, if you really want draw that bad, you can always do something like Sign in Blood, hit them for 5 and still get +2 cards.

I just personally think Chandra, Torch of Defiance is an overall more well-rounded Planeswalker.

Rhadamanthus on Can a double-faced card copying ...

10 months ago

It can transform, but depending on the specific cards involved you might not get the result you're going for.

As you said in your question, only double-faced cards can transform and a copy effect will overwrite whatever face is currently showing. This means if you turn Nicol Bolas, the Ravager  Flip into a copy of Thing in the Ice  Flip and transform it, the card itself will turn over to the Nicol Bolas, the Arisen side but will still be a Thing in the Ice  Flip. If you remove Metamorphic Alteration then you have a problem: a planeswalker with no loyalty counters (because it didn't re-enter the battlefield), which will be put directly into the graveyard.

However, if you turn Bolas into a copy of Liliana, Heretical Healer  Flip instead and trigger the ability, you follow the "exile and return transformed" instructions and get a planeswalker Bolas with the proper starting loyalty.

Load more

No data for this card yet.