Lone Wolf

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Casual Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Eighth Edition (8ED) Common
Seventh Edition (7ED) Common
Starter 1999 (S99) Common
Portal Three Kingdoms (PTK) Uncommon
Urza's Legacy (ULG) Uncommon
Portal Second Age (P02) Uncommon

Combos Browse all

Lone Wolf

Creature — Wolf

You may have Lone Wolf assign its combat damage as though it weren't blocked.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

8ED

7ED

S99

Ebay

Have (2) richardmv , Candyman949
Want (0)

Recent Decks

Lone Wolf Discussion

Naksu on Meanie Weenie Green Stompy

3 weeks ago

Yeah, I might've jumped the gun on Experiment One. It usually reaches its desired value by reaching 3/3 and regenerating once while looking for killing blow, but here it's not that easily achieved. With Garruk's Companion or Kalonian Tusker it would pull its weight, but that would make this a different deck entirely.

Aspect of Hydra paired with Groundbreaker is at minimum a "Giant Growth", but will more likely be bigger majority of the time. Playing the Groundsbreaker and buffing the Lone Wolf could result in a turn 4 lethal quite easily.

RazortoothMtg on Student Cycle

5 months ago

When you level up one of them from 2-6 to the 7+, they lose the keyword ability from the 2-6 range, which is why most levelers final level is just strictly better than their second level. This is shown on Student of Warfare, and it worked well with the Student of Evasion. However, I feel in gameplay, with for example Student of Recklessness, I draw him in the late game and pump him up to the 4/1 haste, but I can't go for the 7/1 Menace if I want to attack this turn. The same is true for Student of Exctinction, where sometimes I'd rather have Wither and sometimes I'd rather have Deathtouch. I do like dbpunk's idea for the green one. The Lone Wolf style ability isn't always better than Trample, but it feels a bit like a leveled up trample. For Student of Extinction, Wither could upgrade to Infect, for Student of Recklessness you could have Menace upgrade into "can't be blocked except by three or more creatures" ala Guile.

divided on Saskia the Thieving

8 months ago

I definitely need to add Aurelia, True Conviction and Wound Reflection, just have to pick them up. I was also looking at Lone Wolf for the same reason you suggested Siege Behemoth and Outmaneuver; great cards for what I'm trying to do here.

I really like the idea of using Boros Reckoner, Spitemare -- and especially Arcbond with something like Kalitas, Traitor of Ghet in play -- to deal out damage on the defensive.

I have a Quietus Spike I could move to this, and also picked up a Scytheclaw recently but didn't run it after realizing the damage is not being dealt by the creature, so Saskia doesn't copy that damage. But then again, if I'm swinging at Saskia's target, they're taking a huge hit before Saskia deals her damage, so assuming the opponent as full life, I'd need 4 damage to get though with one source to double damage it's fatal: 28 (4x2+20) from combat, then 16 from Saskia. Hm, I'll have to playtest these and reconsider.

I was orignally going to include Panharmonicon until I realized you cannot use it to double player targets with Saskia, so there's not much use for it and Strionic Resonator is a much better option.

Great suggestions, thanks Rzepkanut!

sonnet666 on Can you stack "SuperTrample" like ...

1 year ago

First off, you can't "let" Laccolith Rig trigger first, it will always trigger first because it happens way back back in the declare blockers step while Lone Wolf's ability only matters once we get to the combat damage step.

In fact, Laccolith Rig doesn't just trigger first, it's the only thing triggering, since Lone Wolf doesn't have any triggered abilities (doesn't use "when," "whenever," or "at"). Lone Wolf has a replacement effect that modifies how combat damage is dealt as it is being dealt.

That said, the short answer is no, you cannot "stack" them, because once you deal damage with Laccolith Rig's ability Lone Wolf will not be dealing combat damage this turn, so there's no damage event for LW's replacement effect to modify.

Also, when you use an aura enchantment like Laccolith Rig (It says "enchant creature" because it's old, but if it were printed today it would look like Angelic Gift), the correct term is "enchanted" not "equipped."

nobu_the_bard on Can you stack "SuperTrample" like ...

1 year ago

These abilities don't really interact with each other in a useful sense.

Laccolith Rig actually has a triggered ability. Its ability triggers in the declare blockers step if the creature it's attached to was blocked. This is actually before damage is normally assigned (so it is "even faster" than first strike); if you use the triggered ability, you won't assign any combat damage this turn for this creature. This decision will always be made before Lone Wolf's ability.

Lone Wolf's ability gives you an alternate way to assign damage. It is all-or-nothing. It still counts as combat damage though; if you used the Rig's triggered ability, Lone Wolf won't assign combat damage this turn, so it doesn't matter if you use his ability or not.

UniqueUserID on Can you stack "SuperTrample" like ...

1 year ago

As the title says, what would happen in this scenerio?

I have a Lone Wolf equipped with a Laccolith Rig. Am I right in thinking if I let Laccolith Rig resolve first I can only deal one instance of damage, but if I let Lone Wolf resolve first I can use both effects fully?

Basically wondering if one of them "uses" up the others "combat damage"

BlueScope on May i target a plainswalker ...

1 year ago

Creatures can attack either opponents or a planeswalker controlled by an opponent (in which case it's controller becomes a defending player). This choice is made when declaring attackers, and defaults to a creature attacking the player. This does not target in any way.

Each defending player may then block creatures attacking them, or a planeswalker they control. If those creatures aren't blocked, they will deal damage equal to their power to the opponent or their planeswalker, as previously decided.


Cards that let you deal combat damage to the defending player as though they weren't blocked (such as Lone Wolf) even have been errata'd to deal damage to either the player or the planeswalker, depending on which you attacked. The relevant Gatherer rule:

If this creature is attacking a planeswalker, assigning its damage as though it werent blocked means the damage is assigned to the planeswalker, not to the defending player.

Load more