|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
|Commander Anthology (CMT)||Rare|
|Commander 2013 (C13)||Rare|
|Rise of the Eldrazi (ROE)||Rare|
Combos Browse all
Creature — Human Shaman
Level up 1,G (1,G: Put a level counter on this. Level up only as a sorcery.) [1/1]
Level 2-5 Tap: Put a 3/3 green Elephant creature token onto the battlefield. [1/1]
level Tap: Put two 3/3 green Elephant creature tokens onto the battlefield. [1/1]
Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts
|Have (16)||ironax , LegendDeer , bakeraj4 , RPG_FOX , GoldGhost012 , sneferie , CAPT.Shock , sonnet666 , Falte , dplerner , mziter501 , pskinn01 , HR19 , Va1mar , orzhov_is_relatively_okay819 , vashaclarens|
Kazandu Tuskcaller Discussion
6 days ago
2 months ago
And a bit more:1. Keep in mind you may only equip as a sorcery, so it's not even particularly good at stoping Song of the Dryads or the like.
No matter how many level counters Mairsil, the Pretender gets, he will never inherit the tap abilities of Kazandu Tuskcaller or any other activated abilities that level up creatures only have when they're leveled up.
Worse than that, while Mairsil, the Pretender is face-down, he has no inherited abilities. Even if Morph was an activated ability he wouldn't have it.
2 months ago
Everything above is correct, but I'm going to add a bit of information:
- While, as has been established, nothing happens on resolution, you are certainly free from activating those abilities, even sacrificing Mairsil to equip itself, which would never happen. The only kind of actual use for this would be to save it from a Song of the Dryads, or something of that sort, though.
- If you're doing this in the Commander format, keep in mind that Figure of Destiny with its WR color identity isn't legal to include in a deck that has Mairsil as the Commander
- "Level up" is an activated ability, so yes, Mairsil will have that ability and Venerated Teacher will put counters on it. And again, you wouldn't be able to play Kazandu Tuskcaller in this Commander deck due to its G color identity.
- You can turn it face-down, but never face-up again until it leaves the battlefield (and is therefore turned face-up automatically) because Morph isn't an activated ability, therefore Mairsil won't have it, and you won't get to take the special action of unmorphing it
2 months ago
I think this rule will tell what you need for this one. 301.5c An Equipment thats also a creature cant equip a creature. An Equipment that loses the subtype Equipment cant equip a creature. An Equipment cant equip itself. An Equipment that equips an illegal or nonexistent permanent becomes unattached from that permanent but remains on the battlefield. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.) An Equipment cant equip more than one creature. If a spell or ability would cause an Equipment to equip more than one creature, the Equipments controller chooses which creature it equips.
Yes. Provided that the right creature types are there, Mairsil can advance to the 8/8.
He would not. Kazandu Tuskcaller and other levelers do not have the other abilities unless they have the right number of counters.
Yes he can, there's no issue with that ability.
No. Prototype Portal's ability is linked specifically to the card that it exiles when it enters the battlefield. Cards exiled by the ability from Myr Welder will not be able to be copied, despite both abilities coming from the same source.
2 months ago
1 I cast Mairsil, the Pretender exiling Demonmail Hauberk with a cage counter. It's my only creature. Can I sacrifice Mairsil to try to equip it to itself? Can I sacrifice another creature to try to equip him to himself?
Just a note: the Gatherer page seems to state that you can activate equip abilities, but Mairsil doesn't attach.
2 If Maersil exiles Figure of Destiny can it become the 8/8 Kithkin Spirit (eventually)?
4 If he copies Mischievous Quanar can he facedown himself?
3 months ago
Out of experience, Kazandu Tuskcaller is a really fragile creature. I'd try a different token-maker like Ant Queen or Nemata, Grove Guardian. Also, you should look at Essence Warden's white sisters: Soul Warden and Soul's Attendant. You could cut some of your other weaker lifegainers/damage preventers like Heroes' Reunion and/or Fog to make room. Good luck with the deck!
4 months ago
isaelis Thanks for your comments!
Opal Palace is in because it turns Rith, the Awakener into a 7/7 at least and therefore a 3 hit commander kill on somebody. I kinda like the challenge of running no Command Tower as well, I need to put the deck together and get mana screwed a couple times before I wise up and take your advice
The reason I'm running all the mana dorks is so if i hit with Rith I will have a bunch of colored permanents to get extra tokens with, also it helps with Glare of Subdual and other creature matters cards. Again I'm probably going to make the deck, get wrathed once and lose everything and not do anything for the rest of the game to make me realize the error of my ways. But until then it's all concepts
Kazandu Tuskcaller! That's a budget card I'm looking for! I'll throw it in the maybeboard to remember it when i start making adjustments.
4 months ago
Fun little token maker that can get out of control perhaps with early ramp Kazandu Tuskcaller