Izzet Chemister

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Custom Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Masters 25 (A25) None
Commander 2017 (C17) Rare

Combos Browse all

Izzet Chemister

Creature — Goblin Wizard

Haste {R},{T}: Exile target instant or sorcery card from your graveyard. 1{R},{T}, Sacrifice Izzet Chemister: Cast any number of cards exiled with Izzet Chemister without paying their mana costs.

Izzet Chemister Discussion

DoofWagon on The Desaturating Seven (Pashalik Mons)

2 months ago

Gempalm Incinerator is a card I remembered but forgot to put in! This helps a whole lot, for obvious reasons. I'm only skipping on prophetic ravings because I intend to be killing most of my goblins for commander damage, and I don't have a way to replay it more than once like i do with Squee or my instants/sorceries with Izzet Chemister . And haste isn't much of a problem for me since I have Anger , Goblin Warchief , and Goblin Bushwhacker . The card draw, though, is something that I need or else I'm top-decking after the first several turns.

Kogarashi on Does Mairsil, the Pretender's gimmick ...

1 year ago

Please link all cards you're asking about, so it's easier for people to tell what you're asking about. Izzet Chemister

Unfortunately things won't quite work the way you'd like in this regard. Izzet Chemister's abilities are linked abilities, which only care about each other. You could only cast cards exiled with the first ability.

From Mairsil's rulings: "If Mairsil gains an activated ability that’s normally linked to another activated ability of the card it came from, those two abilities Mairsil gains are linked for as long as Mairsil remains on the battlefield. For example, if Mairsil exiles Izzet Chemister, cards exiled with the first ability Mairsil gained from Izzet Chemister can be cast if you activate the second ability it gained that way. Izzet Chemister itself can’t be cast this way, and if Mairsil leaves the battlefield before activating that second ability, the cards exiled with that first ability are lost forever."

The emphasized section specifically shows that you couldn't cast the caged cards, even though they were exiled with this instance of Mairsil, because they weren't exiled due to the ability linked to the casting ability. The part that makes the Chemister's abilities linked is the fact that the second activated ability specifically refers to the effect of the first activated ability.

Relevant rule: "607.5. - If an object acquires a pair of linked abilities as part of the same effect, the abilities will be similarly linked to one another on that object even though they weren’t printed on that object. They can’t be linked to any other ability, regardless of what other abilities the object may currently have or may have had in the past."

Boza on Does Mairsil, the Pretender's gimmick ...

1 year ago

Izzet Chemister for reference. It has some synergy - you may sacrifice Mairsil/Chemister to cast all cards exiled with it, but only the current Mairsil. You have no access to cards caged by prior iterations of Mairsil via the last ability of Chemister.

All cards that reenter the battlefield are considered new permanents with no memory of their previous existence. That is the reason why mairsil uses cage counters - that is so far the only way the game has to track cards in exile.

DoctorScarf on Does Mairsil, the Pretender's gimmick ...

1 year ago

Okay, so I'm cooking up a Mairsil, the Pretender brew for my next build and I came across a mega sick-as card, namely Izzet Chemister . If I were to cage the chemister with Mairsil, would I be able to cast literally everything that I've caged if I use his second ability? If this works, I'm surprised I haven't seen any other lists with the two paired up with each other.

KongMing on Comrade Zada and the Red Army (Zada, Combo EDH)

1 year ago

I have some ideas that might help to combo with the Instant and Sorcery synergy you have.

Bloodfire Enforcers can get deadly once it is active and pumped; Trample and First Strike together make the damage hard to block or take to the face.

Charmbreaker Devils helps with recursion, and also gets swull AF.

Galvanoth lets you play an Instant or Sorcery for free, and also doesn't reveal your topdeck to the whole board if you can't cast it.

Many of your Instants and Sorceries are cheap, so Goblin Dark-Dwellers might give you some utility mileage. Essentially gives you another body on the board and a recast, so it's good card efficiency.

Izzet Chemister can let you cast multiple Instants and Sorceries from your grave, giving you the ability to reach critical mass faster.

You don't get triggers from copies, but Guttersnipe might still be useful for racking up passive damage.

Finally, Sphinx-Bone Wand can help you win the game with direct damage if you can't get combat stuff through.

Great deck! +1 from me.

Seedubs3 on It's too late to lose the hate

1 year ago

Removed Curse of Bloodletting, Echo Mage, and Underworld Dreams.

Added in Kess, Dissident Mage, another Nightveil Specter, and Izzet Chemister.

Thoughts?

Funkydiscogod I was honestly thinking about scraping the Ashiok plan, but idk what to have x4 of yet.

Rhadamanthus on Mairsil + izzet chemister

1 year ago

You can use double square brackets around a card's name to create a pop-up. It's the easiest way to make sure everyone understands what's going on with your question: Mairsil, the Pretender, Izzet Chemister, Oona, Queen of the Fae, Arc-Slogger

No, you'd only be able to use the 2nd ability from Izzet Chemister to cast cards exiled by the 1st ability from Izzet Chemister. If an object gains a set of linked abilities from another object they're still linked and will still only refer to each other for things like "cards exiled with (this)", etc.

Load more

Izzet Chemister occurrence in decks from the last year

Commander / EDH:

All decks: 0.0%