Iname as One

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Custom Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Saviors of Kamigawa (SOK) Rare

Combos Browse all

Iname as One

Legendary Creature — Spirit

When Iname as One enters the battlefield, if you played it from your hand, you may search your library for a Spirit permanent card, put it into play, then shuffle your library.

When Iname as One is put into a graveyard from play, you may remove it from the game. If you do, return target Spirit permanent card from your graveyard to play.

Iname as One Discussion

ZendikariWol on New Format: Unlikely Alliances, Page 2

1 week ago

Actually, Fellin22, there is one multicolor legend from the entire Kamigawa block; that being Iname as One . Starting to get why the legendary mechanic had to be reworked in Dominaria...

BMHKain on Can Gerrard, Weatherlight Hero's ability ...

3 weeks ago

wait...

(I'm resuming my development of a deck in regards to Morph...)

(But a heated debate goes to Worldfire (I know it's banned, but it's true...) Level Destruction...)

(But if Iname as One was able to allow its abilities to activate even w/ Rest in Peace …)

(Why do I feel I want to ask a second time...?)

Uh, well... after an overnight mild lack of slumber, I didn't know this question would go crazy on this scale. Now I wonder if Gerrard, Weatherlight Hero can still do what the question asked initially, & since we've recently put Iname as One on the table, is Gerrard capable of the same rulings mentioned above as Iname as One ? If what everyone say otherwise about this Gerrard is true, Ah well. I tried... X/

Rhadamanthus on Can Gerrard, Weatherlight Hero's ability ...

3 weeks ago

@Yesterday It just so happens that the Gatherer page for Iname as One has the following rulings note:

4/15/2013 In a Commander game, you may send Iname to the Command Zone instead of exiling it during the resolution of its ability. If you do, its ability still works. Iname's ability only requires that you attempted to exile it, not that it actually gets to the exile zone. This is similar to how destroying a creature (with, for example, Rest in Peace) doesn't necessarily ensure that creature will end up in the graveyard; it just so happens that the action of exiling something and the exile zone both use the same word: "exile".

If you take an action but a replacement effect changes the result of that action, you still took the action. This is why, for example, Rest in Peace doesn't shut down activated abilities with "sacrifice a creature" in the cost. The game's definition of "sacrifice" is "To move a permanent you control to its owner's graveyard". If you sacrifice something while Rest in Peace is out and it moves to exile instead of the graveyard, you still sacrificed it.

In your Baral, Chief of Compliance and Tomorrow, Azami's Familiar example, you do have to discard a card.

Yesterday on Can Gerrard, Weatherlight Hero's ability ...

3 weeks ago

@Rhadamanthus: That's... not true? Otherwise, Iname as One would be... slightly less awful as a Commander.

If you have a Baral, Chief of Compliance and Tomorrow, Azami's Familiar out at the same time and would draw a card from Baral's triggered ability, you don't have to discard a card. You only have to discard a card if you do draw one, and Tomorrow's replacement effect says that you don't.

[email protected]_only on Card creation challenge

4 months ago

Iname, Completed

Legendary Creature - Spirit God

Indestructible, Trample, Deathtouch.

~ cannot attack or block unless you control at least 2 other spirits, and have at least 2 spirits in your graveyard.

Other Spirits you control have soulshift X, where X is the spirits converted mana cost minus 1.

6/6


Unspoken

Legendary Creature - Spirit God

Indestructible, Flying, Trample.

~ cannot attack or block unless you have cast 2 or more arcane spells this turn.

Whenever ~ deals combat damage to a player, return target spell with arcane from your graveyard to your hand.

6/7


based on The Unspeakable and Iname as One

make another

Quicksilver on Okay, this is epic

6 months ago

I love the idea of Iname as One being useful outside of hard casting it, +1 from me.

n0bunga on Commanders by Power Level [EDH Tier List]

1 year ago

I think, more than ever, we should just get rid of those silly definitions. People keep throwing them back like they're gospel.

It was (supposed to be) an easy way to define and distinguish the hierarchical structure set in EDH. But this has become more problematic recently, with users trying to manipulate the definition as if that's what people look at first when defining the tiers, and not the inherent strength of the Commander, and the deck it's best known for.

So here is a solution, to hopefully curb any regurgitated copypastas of the definitions from hereon in:

Tier 1: Better than the rest Tier 1.5: Not quite Tier 1 in consistency or speed, but better than Tier 2. Tier 2: Not quite Tier 1.5 in consistency or speed, but better than 2.5. Tier 2.5: Not quite Tier 2 in consistency or speed, but better than 3. Tier 3: Not quite Tier 2.5 in consistency or speed, but better than 4.

And so on.

There should be no confusion, no buzzwords like "suffering the aggro problem" since there are combo decks in Tier 3 that just aren't as fast or as reliable as combo decks higher up, or combos that rely on too many pieces.

This list isn't to show every user or lurker on the internet that every commander is totally interchangeable. That's a waste of everyone's time. It's to document the best possible list for the commander, the best possible commander for the list, and the agreed upon archetype that best suits both. Period.

There's no argument nor sensible discussion to be had when you try and claim the tiers don't matter past a certain number. The tiers themselves are arbitrary to begin with; we could make it 10 tiers if need be, with 0.5 marks in between. 5 just seems like a sound starting point, as people ought to understand the fundamental difference between 1 and 5. The 0.5 inclusions were recently added, because it was agreed upon that certain decks felt better than 2, but less than 1.

The point is, there is a hierarchy; that's inarguable. The cream of the crop sits at the top. As you move down the hierarchy, you also (presumably) decrease in speed and consistency, and to some extent, archetypically. There are other factors to consider as well.

But to claim that 60% of the tiers are completely irrelevant implies that you think there's no discernable difference between something like Adun Oakenshield and Iname as One - which is patently absurd.

n0bunga on Commanders by Power Level [EDH Tier List]

1 year ago

It’s a tough hypothesis to prove as some universal truth though.

Some Legendary creatures in the same colour pie are just objectively better and objectively worse. Similarly, some Legendary creatures objectively help a specific gameplan better than others.

An Ad Nauseam Zur deck will be objectively worse if Zur wasn’t in it.

Food Chain Tazri will be objectively worse if Karona were the commander and Tazri just appeared in the 99. The resiliency of the deck relies on Tazri.

Yidris storm becomes a pile of cards if you swap it for Silas Renn and Tymna.

Teferi Control becomes mono blue whatever if you general swap with Sai Master Thoptorist.

I don’t think your testing is very academic, mainly because “nearly” 100 still doesn’t seem like a lot; I could jam 100 fun games into a weekend dedicated to EDH. It’s also guilty of a logical inconsitency that proving a deck “can” win if it has a terrible Legendary doesn’t disprove the potency of strong Legendary Creatures.

For this to work you’d need thousands of tests among every single legendary, every popular archetype, and the win/loss ratio differences if you substituted a commander for anything else.

Load more

No data for this card yet.