Ichor Slick

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Casual Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Duel Decks: Garruk vs. Liliana (DDD) Common
Future Sight (FUT) Common

Combos Browse all

Ichor Slick

Sorcery

Target creature gets -3/-3 until end of turn.

Cycling (2) ((2), Discard this card: Draw a card.)

Madness (3)(Black) (If you discard this card, you may play it for its madness cost instead of putting it into your graveyard.)

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

DDD

FUT

Ebay

Have (1) XxCataclysmiCxX
Want (1) RazortoothMtg

Ichor Slick Discussion

Alkadron on PDH(RB) - You wanna block? Choose Wisely

1 month ago

Hello Dete! Thanks for all the suggestions!

When I was putting this together, I thought really hard about adding a bunch of really small evasive creatures, so I could get the oddsmaker trigger reliably. But her whole deal is gambling, and reliable isn't a gamble. I thought it would be way more fun if I put in creatures that were easy to block, and forced my opponent to make some very difficult choices.

So I use a lot of first strikers - they can get blocked, but a your creature's probably going to die and mine will probably live. Do you wanna sacrifice a creature to prevent me from drawing?

And I use a lot of trampling combat tricks. I know I have to choose my oddsmaker creature before blockers are declared, but I can cast Run Amok or Rush of Adrenaline or Brute Strength after blockers.

Imagine getting attacked by a 2/2 rats. You're going to block with your trinket mage, to a) kill the rats, and also b) prevent me from drawing two cards. Then I hit my rats with the Brute Strength -- now your mage still dies, my rats live, and I'm still drawing my two cards. Next time I attack with the rats, you're gonna have an agonizing decision to make - Do I have another combat trick in my hand? Am I bluffing? What do you do?

And that's the goal! That's what's fun for me while playing this deck. Gambling, and forcing my opponents to gamble with me. The deck would probably be better with reliable card draw, but I do alright for myself, and I have a ton of fun doing it. :)

As for removal; a deck like this can only dedicate a few spots to it--the overwhelming majority of cards need to be small aggressive creatures and combat tricks. The removal I've already got (Fiery Temper, Alchemist's Greeting, Ichor Slick, Dark Withering, Murderous Compulsion, Murder, Terminate, Diabolic Edict, Aftershock, and Psychotic Haze) are the very best cards I could fit into those slots, for this deck archetype, I think. For a more control-ey, less aggro deck, nothing's better than Crypt Rats, Pestilence, and Evincar's, for sure. But I think they'd slow me down and kill more of my creatures than my opponents', in this deck.

Gattison on Liberate Tutemet Ex Inferis

11 months ago

Ichor Slick is kinda cool. I'll have to do some domino-effecting to scrape up some Lightning Bolts, though. And I don't seem to play Murderous Compulsion well.

However, you should have two Cathartic Reunions set aside for me that will replace the Dangerous Wagers. On the other hand, Death Denied and Fireball may be better sideboaded, leaving three slots to start playtesting Ichor Slick. ty

eyes2sky on Liberate Tutemet Ex Inferis

11 months ago

Lose 2x Dangerous Wager for some early game control...such as Murderous Compulsion, Ichor Slick or Lightning Bolt?

nuperokaso on Living End Highlander (100 Card Singleton)

1 year ago

Now that Amonkhet with its new cycling cards was released, this deck can be significantly improved. I have tested your decklist as it was, and then made following changes:

  1. Obviously add new cycling creatures, such as Archfiend of Ifnir or Greater Sandwurm.
  2. Removals like Murder or Ichor Slick in this deck are bad, because they add creatures into your opponent's graveyard, which makes your Living End worse. You need to focus on removal which disables the creature on the battlefield, puts it into library or exiles it, such as Chaos Warp or Song of the Dryads.
  3. Turns out that this deck has much better manabase than it seems - mainly because of all the land-cycling creatures (Igneous Pouncer), which can search for dual lands such as Cinder Glade. Thus it is easily possible to play four colors. Adding blue will improve your changes of going off with additional cascade card Shardless Agent and tutors like Bring to Light.
  4. Replace Flayer of the Hatebound with Ogre Battledriver. As previous comment says, Flayer of the Hatebound doesn't work with Living End. So instead of damage, you'll have haste.
  5. Replace All Hallow's Eve with Twilight's Call - it's $100 cheaper.
  6. Add Emrakul, the Promised End as a backup plan - turns out that the deck has a lot of tutors, never misses a land-drop thanks to all that cycling, and has many card types in the graveyard. Emrakul is enough to win all alone.

Neotrup on If you cycle a card ...

1 year ago

It's not just a change to the oracle text, it was an update to the comprehensive rules with Shadows over Innistrad. You are correct that when you discard Ichor Slick to cycling you always exile it now, and on resolution of it's madness triggered ability if you don't cast it you will attempt to put it into the graveyard from exile, but with Abandoned Sarcophagus will instead exile it. This is one of the cases of exiling an exiled card.

Yesterday on If you cycle a card ...

1 year ago

If you have an Abandoned Sarcophagus on your side of the field and cycle an Ichor Slick (considering the new oracle text for madness cards is that you discard them into exile and then they go into the graveyard afterwards) if you chose not to cast the spell for its madness cost and it would ordinarily then go into your graveyard, does it instead go into exile?

I'm asking because Ichor Slick would enter from exile instead of just entering the graveyard by being cycled from hand. Obviously Abandoned Sarcophagus refers to cards that are being cycled as the cause of the effect that puts them into the graveyard, and not just cards that have been cycled at some point, otherwise you could cycle a Miscalculation into your graveyard with Abandoned Sarcophagus on the field and then repeatedly cast it from the graveyard because it 'was cycled'.

Thanks in advance.

Epochalyptik on Madness technicality...

2 years ago

The linking syntax is covered in the formatting tips.
Library of Leng
Just the Wind
Ichor Slick

No. When you discard a card with madness while you control Library of Leng, you have to make a decision. Both madness and Library of Leng have a replacement effect that tries to replace the discard event with something else. You can only apply one of these effects at a time.

If you apply Library of Leng's effect first, then the discarded card will be put on top of your library. Madness will not have anything to replace anymore, so you won't get the madness effect.

If you apply the madness effect first, the card is exiled so it can later be cast. Library of Leng's effect won't be able to apply anymore.

tl;dr: You pick one. You don't get both.