Hellcarver Demon

Hellcarver Demon

Creature — Demon

Flying

Whenever Hellcarver Demon deals combat damage to a player, sacrifice all other permanents you control and discard your hand. Exile the top six cards of your library. You may cast any number of nonland cards exiled this way without paying their mana costs.

Browse Alters View at Gatherer

Trade

Have (1) metalmagic
Want (0)

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Rise of the Eldrazi (ROE) Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
2019-10-04 Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Hellcarver Demon Discussion

blfngl on blfngl

1 week ago

Hey burferking, the only combo I had listed publicly was this one:

Hellcarver Demon + High Market + Vampiric Tutor / Enlightened Tutor / something that can put a card on top of your library

All of this is to win with Barren Glory. A jank wincon that I enjoy :P

burferking on blfngl

1 week ago

Hello, I was curious about your combos with Hellcarver Demon, but I think you removed the deck containing them. Can you explain to me how they work?

FSims81 on Amy way to get Bitter ...

1 year ago

You don't need mana to cast the ordeal though, pskinn01. Once Hellcarver Demon exiles the top six cards, those can be cast without paying their mana cost. The only thing that needs to happen for sure is Bitter Ordeal on top of the library

FSims81 on Amy way to get Bitter ...

1 year ago

I'm not sure this is going to work the way you want it to. There are ways to cast the Bitter Ordeal while the Hellcarver Demon trigger is on the stack but it is going to resolve first so you won't get the Gravestorm benefit from the permanents the Demon makes you sacrifice.

Unless I'm missing something in the interaction

toothlessthedragon on This deck plays all the EPIC spells.

1 year ago

lotte3331 we've put very extensive research into this deck and we are 100% confident that we have done it correctly to account for any rules technicalities. TheGeneralAdvisor is correct, but I will try to provide additional clarity.

Hellcarver Demon's ability will trigger during the Combat Damage Step (once damage is dealt), and as a result of the wording on the card, "cast any number of nonland cards exiled this way without paying their mana costs," you actually cast the spells as part of the triggered ability's effects (still during the Combat Damage Step). This allows you to ignore any timing restrictions because you can't normally cast any spells during the Combat Damage Step. As the trigger resolves, you choose which spells go on the stack, and their order on the stack. The "Epic" ability (making you unable to cast spells for the rest of the game) does not take effect until an Epic spell has resolved, and since all of the Epic spells have already been cast before we get restricted by the "Epic" ability, all the spells will resolve normally during the Combat Damage Step.

This is different from Narset, Enlightened Master because he has different wording on his ability. The "Until end of turn" clause forces you to obey timing restrictions. Unlike Hellcarver Demon, Narset, Enlightened Master does not place any spells on the stack as the attack trigger resolves. Instead, the spells are put into exile as the ability resolves and you may choose to cast any of them later in your turn for free (while obeying timing restrictions).

Here are some links for rulings on relevant cards:

Narset, Enlightened Master: https://www.mtgassist.com/cards/Khans-of-Tarkir/Narset-Enlightened-Master/rulings/

Hellcarver Demon: https://www.mtgassist.com/cards/Rise-of-the-Eldrazi/Hellcarver-Demon/rulings/

Epic Ability (Enduring Ideal): http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=enduring%20ideal

TheGeneralAdvisor on This deck plays all the EPIC spells.

1 year ago

lotte3331: those two cards’ abilities allow you to cast them as part of the resolution of the trigger or the spell. So for instance, Hellcarver Demon would trigger, and when the trigger resolves, you sac all other permanents, discard your hand, exile the top 6 of your library, and then choose to cast any of them right away. Those spells then resolve after all of this happens because they were cast as part of the Demon’s triggered ability. Epic Experiment is the same way except it’s a spell and not a trigger.

Boza on Card creation challenge

1 year ago

Continue the challenge - choose a bad rare or mythic and remake it somehow into a useful card. Here is a small list of one card per color, but choose your own if you wish:

Dubious Challenge
Archangel's Light
Hero of Oxid Ridge
Naru Meha, Master Wizard
Hellcarver Demon

Load more