Grizzly Bears

Grizzly Bears

Creature — Bear

Browse Alters View at Gatherer

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Tenth Edition (10E) Common
Ninth Edition (9ED) Common
Ninth Edition Foreign Black Border (9EDFBB) Common
Eighth Edition (8ED) Common
Seventh Edition (7ED) Common
Starter 1999 (S99) Common
Classic Sixth Edition (6ED) Common
Portal (POR) Common
Fifth Edition (5ED) Common
Fourth Edition (4ED) Common
4th Edition Foreign Black Border (4EDFBB) Common
Revised Edition (3ED) Common
Revised Foreign Black Border (3EDFBB) Common
Unlimited Edition (2ED) Common
Collector's Edition (CED) Common
International Collector's Edition (CEI) Common
Limited Edition Beta (LEB) Common
Limited Edition Alpha (LEA) Common

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vintage Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Noble Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Block Constructed Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
2019-10-04 Legal
Vanguard Legal
Leviathan Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Planechase Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Modern Legal
Pauper Legal
Oldschool 93/94 Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Casual Legal
Oathbreaker Legal

Latest Decks as Commander

Grizzly Bears Discussion

Icbrgr on Kiora - Killer of Krakens?

4 months ago

@DuTogira

I always thought non-ledendary things kinda fell into that category in the sense that Grizzly Bears were Grizzly Bears ... same species and given the same power toughness and mana cost because Magic as a Trading Card game isnt gonna be as crazy with individual states/values like Pokemon video games... so its generic for the sake of simplicity... and yet you were summoning an actual bear from another plane pseudo explaining why you can typically only have 4x of said bears in your deck to represent a sort of limited quantity/population and its transportation was the reasoning behind its "Summoning sickness."

but at the same time having Venser, Shaper Savant and Venser, the Sojourner on the battlefield at the same time could sorta make sense if the argument could be made that you were summoning "the actual thing" but from different timelines/different points in time/reality.... pre-spark ignition vs post spark ignition and things like that; which explains how "Gideon Tribal" could work.... because even though both Venser and Gideon are now cannonly dead... we can still summon a past versions of them.

This is why I had trouble with the changes made to the Legendary Rule allowing for me to have a Jace, the Mind Sculptor on the battlefield and then to allow for my opponent to cast his own Jace, the Mind Sculptor to the battlefield without causing mine to "blow up" .... otherwise... why cant we all have ten copies of JTMS on the battlefield?

Mother of god I am proofreading this and seeing my glaring dorkness.... I apologize.... to everyone...

Lame_Duck on Why Are Some Players so ...

6 months ago

For a less useless answer: some people just prefer when the game doesn't take itself too seriously. Yes, it's goofy that a Squirrel can fight Savannah Lions to the death but it's just as goofy that a Jackal Pup can do the same to Grizzly Bears . You're never going to be able to resolve the conflict between the gameplay abstraction and the flavour in a 100% consistent way and some players enjoy it more when WotC embrace the absurdity a bit.

See also: the appeal of the Un- sets.

chosenone124 on What happens to Gerard, Weatherlight ...

7 months ago

I have Bearer of the Heavens , Mimic Vat , Gerard, Weatherlight Hero, and a Grizzly Bear. Bearer dies.

At the end step, Bearer nukes the field. I imprint Gerard under the vat, then imprint the bear.

After this, do Gerard, Mimic Vat, and Bearer all return?

chosenone124 on What happebs when you Soul ...

8 months ago

I have a Grizzly Bear on the battlefield. I activate Soul Separator targetting Quicksilver Gargantuan , getting a 7/7 Black Zombie and having the other token copy the bear. What are the characteristics of the token?

Boza on Does a color of your ...

8 months ago

Intervention Pact (remember to use double square brackets to link your cards for EZ viewing experience for everyone)

Damage can be dealt by permanents, spells or abilities. Intervention pact does not specify it works versus a certain color only, so it has no restriction on its prevention.

However, you are allowed to prevent only one source of damage. If you are attacked by a Grizzly Bear and the opponent aims a Lightning Bolt at you, a single pact can prevent only one of these.

Compare it to Prismatic Strands , which first has you specify a color, then prevents damage from said color.

gato91 on Ayula's Bear Necessities

8 months ago

Maybe you can try to use the 4 copies of Grizzly Bears and 4 copies of Runeclaw Bear with Muraganda Petroglyphs to pump vainilla bears and the bear tokens.

Kogarashi on Multiplayer Priority Multiple Items on ...

8 months ago

Player A, for as long as they're the active player, will always receive priority after a spell or ability resolves, per the rule you quoted.

The only time someone other than the active player receives priority is immediately after casting a spell or activating an ability (then the player who cast the spell or activated the ability has priority).

So when Player C casts Brainstorm , they have priority immediately after to be the first to respond to their own spell. Same when Player D casts Lightning Bolt ; D has priority immediately after. Using that priority to add something else to the stack is "holding priority."

Yes, when Player D's Lightning Bolt resolves, Player A is the first to receive priority (if they want to cast/activate something), and they must pass followed by everyone else in turn passing without adding to the stack in order for the Brainstorm to resolve. Then A receives priority first again and everyone must pass for Grizzly Bears to resolve. It's the same in multiplayer as in 1v1, and it doesn't matter if it's team-based or not.

Minathia on Multiplayer Priority Multiple Items on ...

8 months ago

4 Player Commander Pod, Players A(active), B, C, D in game.

Player A casts Grizzly Bears and passes Player B passes Player C casts Brainstorm and passes Player D casts Lightning Bolt targeting player B and passes

Stack in top to bottom looks like this: Lightning Bolt , Brainstorm , Grizzly Bears . All players will pass and Lightning Bolt will resolve.

After Lightning Bolt resolves, who has priority? Is it Player A because they are active, or Player C who controls the spell on top of the stack?

From the Comp Rules: 116.3b The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) resolves.

This would mean, assuming everyone will pass from here, With Player C's Lightning Bolt on the top of the stack, Player A passes, then Player B, then Player C passes priority again on his own spell, then Player D, then it resolves.

This seems unintuitive, but I can't find any rule saying that it would function differently in (non-team based) multiplayer.

Load more