Drudge Sentinel

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Frontier Legal
Vintage Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Pioneer Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Brawl Legal
Standard Legal
Arena Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Leviathan Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Modern Legal
Pauper Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Legacy Legal
Casual Legal
Oathbreaker Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Dominaria (DOM) Common

Combos Browse all

Drudge Sentinel

Creature — Skeleton Warrior

: Tap Drudge Sentinel. It gains indestructible until end of turn. (Damage and effects that say "destroy" don't destroy it.)

Drudge Sentinel Discussion

Legendary_Shadow on Dem Cheap Zombies Doe!

1 year ago

Well if you like zombies, what about adding 2 more Death Baron and cutting the Drudge Sentinel

Tyrant-Thanatos on Pattern Recognition #85 - Range ...

1 year ago

DragonKing90: The part about it costing more.

Also Drudge Skeletons and Drudge Reavers, which Drudge Sentinel was clearly a throwback to, were also commons. You can't tell me that isn't more than .

DragonKing90 on Pattern Recognition #85 - Range ...

1 year ago

Tyrant-Thanatos: well Drudge Sentinel is also a common lol. commons tend to have their abilities overcosted. which part did your playgroup not believe? the part about indestructible costing more? or the part about being more powerful?

Tyrant-Thanatos on Pattern Recognition #85 - Range ...

1 year ago

DragonKing90: The worst part imo is that they know it's objectively more powerful, and if you look at the cards that have it, it shows. Drudge Sentinel costs to do this, and still taps. It's essentially terrible regenerate, because the effect is stronger so it has to cost more. I called this way back when they said they were phasing out Regenerate in favor of "indestructible until end of turn". It was actually pretty cathartic to wave Drudge Sentinel in my playgroup's collective faces after I spent so much time ranting about exactly this thing back when WotC made that announcement. They didn't believe me, HAH!

I'm still pissed that I was right though.

Shliken on Trample interaction with Drudge Sentinel

1 year ago

Thank you Neotrup for the feedback! I lost a game because the defending player with the Drudge Sentinel "blocked" my 13/13 Dread Shade effected by Song of Freyalise and survived the round with a single health, winning on the next turn. His argument was that since you need to assign lethal damage to the sentinel, and no amount is lethal, all was blocked. The "judge" (its a small store) sided with him, but this at least puts my mind to rest. May ye always topdeck well!

Neotrup on Trample interaction with Drudge Sentinel

1 year ago

No. A creature with indestructible is not destroyed by lethal damage, but it does not prevent any damage. In this case the attacking player chooses how much damage to assign to the blocking Drudge Sentinel, having to assign at least lethal damage (usually 1, but if they cast Gideon's Reproach they could assign 0 as lethal), then they may assign any remaining damage to the defending player or planeswalker. Again, usually 6, but they could choose to deal more to the defending creature, or in the Gideon's Reproach instance just deal all 7 to the defending player.

I mention being able to deal more because this can be relevant. Let's say the Drudge Sentinel is equipped with a Shield of the Realm. It still only has 1 toughness, so if it's indestructible you only need to assign 1 damage and can still trample over for the 6. If your opponent assumes you'll do that though they might not bother with making the sentinel indestructible, at which point you can still choose to trample over for 6, or you can choose to assign 3 damage to the sentinel, 2 of which will be prevented, and 4 to the defending player. This will let you actually kill the Drudge Sentinel, and you're opponent won't be able to respond by making it indestructible after you choose what you're doing, they have to guess how you'll assign the damage and act accordingly.

Shliken on Trample interaction with Drudge Sentinel

1 year ago

So if I attack with any creature with trample, for example's sake a Duskdale Wurm, and my opponent blocks with Drudge Sentinel and uses his ability tapping him, the sentinel still blocks the creature and indestructible absorbs all the damage? Thank you for your input!

No data for this card yet.