Artifact Creature — Bird
Clockwork Avian enters the battlefield with four +1/+0 counters on it.
At end of combat, if Clockwork Avian attacked or blocked this combat, remove a +1/+0 counter from it.
, : Put up to X +1/+0 counters on Clockwork Avian. This ability can't cause the total number of +1/+0 counters on Clockwork Avian to be greater than four. Activate this ability only during your upkeep.
Printings View all
|Masters Edition IV (ME4)||Uncommon|
|Beatdown Box Set (BTD)||Rare|
|Fourth Edition (4ED)||Rare|
|4th Edition Foreign Black Border (4EDFBB)||Rare|
Combos Browse all
|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Latest Decks as Commander
Clockwork Avian Discussion
3 years ago
There are some hilarious cards out there if you want some jankiness.
Archery Training for some pro sniping.
Armageddon Clock if you just wanna watch the world burn.
Armor Thrull because +1/+2 is better than +1/+1.
Azor's Elocutors...win the game? ok.
Clockwork Avian or any other clockwork dudes are funny.
Corrosion to kill all the pesky artifacts.
Djinn of Wishes is lulzy if you want more than just 3 wishes. Yes, you can wish for more wishes now.
Endless Scream because errata.
Essence Flare for a slow death.
Fylgja idk this name is just worth it.
Greater Werewolf and other oldschool werewolves have hilarious effects.
Lead-Belly Chimera and other chimera like +2/+2 counters.
There are some other goofy ways to use proliferate that are actually pretty decent.
All in good fun.
4 years ago
In the future, please link all cards in your description as it helps us to answer your question. Clockwork Avian.
To reiterate what has been said, at any given time, Clockwork Avian can have no more than 4 +1/+0 counters on it. This does not mean you only have 4 of them to work with ever.
You are certainly allowed to put more +1/+0 counters on it if the Avian has fewer than 4 counters on it.
4 years ago
Clockwork Avian's activated ability can never make it so there are more than 4 +1/+0 counters on him. Meaning you can add them up to 4 but if you have 4 or more the ability wont put any counters on. You could have any number of any kind of counters on him its just the ability that wont add more past 4. So go ahead and put those 4 +1/+0 counters on him and then proliferate or bioshift more stuff onto him.
4 years ago
There are some very rare occasions where +/+ counters don't negate -/- counters. The best example for this would be Baron Sengir. He gives himself +2/+2 counters. This is important because even if he would have 2 -1/-1 counters placed on him, they would not negate each other because it is a single +2/+2 counter, not two +1/+1 counters.