|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
|Eighth Edition (8ED)||Uncommon|
|Seventh Edition (7ED)||Common|
|Classic Sixth Edition (6ED)||Common|
|Fifth Edition (5ED)||Common|
|Ice Age (ICE)||Common|
|Fourth Edition (4ED)||Common|
|4th Edition Foreign Black Border (4EDFBB)||Common|
|Revised Edition (3ED)||Common|
|Revised Foreign Black Border (3EDFBB)||Common|
|Unlimited Edition (2ED)||Common|
|Collector's Edition (CED)||Common|
|International Collector's Edition (CEI)||Common|
|Limited Edition Beta (LEB)||Common|
|Limited Edition Alpha (LEA)||Common|
Combos Browse all
Circle of Protection: White
: The next time a white source of your choice would deal damage to you this turn, prevent that damage.
Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts
|Have (7)||richardmv , damo_rox , bakeraj4 , MythicWinter111 , NorthernCrow , Forge , Joblaska|
|Want (3)||eastly , ZeroKotaha , NezumiNinja|
Circle of Protection: White Discussion
2 months ago
I find people really underestimate Eight-and-a-Half-Tails. That ability to give protection and change the color of things to white is ridiculous. He can be a little rough on mana since you only have white but removal and blocking him simply don't work. Makes some fun interactions with stuff like Circle of Protection: White too.
7 months ago
also, it really doesnt make much sense to focus so much on giving yourself protection from only white just because your deck is mono white. Circle of Protection: White should not be your only circle of protection card. all of them are white, thus all of them are legal in this deck. your opponent isn't always going to be mono white like you are.
10 months ago
You've forgotten this set
idk if these would classify as "protection" or not :P
1 year ago
1 year ago
Color identity, which is what I beleive you are thinking about, is only really applicable in Commander/EDH to determine if a card can go into the deck; it has to account for both sides of the transform card in case of varied colors.
Double-faced Card Rules:
711.4. Each face of a double-faced card has its own set of characteristics.
711.4a While a double-faced card is outside the game, in a zone other than the battlefield, or on the battlefield with its front face up, it has only the characteristics of its front face.
711.4b While a double-faced permanents back face is up, it has only the characteristics of its back face. However, its converted mana cost is calculated using the mana cost of its front face. This is a change from previous rules. If a permanent is copying the back face of a double-faced card (even if the card representing that copy is itself a double-faced card), the converted mana cost of that permanent is 0.
1 year ago
My opponent has Akroma's Memorial in play, giving her creatures protection from red and black. I attack with Archangel Avacyn Flip (not transformed into Avacyn, the Purifier Flip), and she is blocking with an Ornithopter.
Does the pro-red from Memorial have any effect whatsoever on the white side Archangel Avacyn Flip, or has the "color identity" aspect of EDH just caused us to have a very confused perspective of double faced card colors?
Thank you for your help!
1 year ago
On re-reading my comment just above, I realized I should have said Circle of Protection: White and Rune of Protection: White. The auras I have for casting on my own stuff aren't that critical either, in hindsight. There's Prismatic Ward, which becomes pretty much unneeded if Painter's Servant is operating, and Nimbus Wings, which could be be replaced by colorless equipment. So, I should reconsider Ruffigan's suggestions.