Chromium, the Mutable

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Arena Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Standard Legal
Pioneer Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Brawl Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Core Set 2019 (M19) Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Chromium, the Mutable

Legendary Creature — Elder Dragon

Flash

This spell can't be countered.

Flying

Discard a card: Until end of turn, Chromium, the Mutable becomes a Human with base power and toughness 1/1, loses all abilities, and gains hexproof. It can't be blocked this turn.

Chromium, the Mutable Discussion

DarkStarStorm on Esper Dragons Pioneer

1 month ago

Would Chromium, the Mutable be a good fit for the deck?

builderboy7 on Chromium, the Sneaky Assassin

1 month ago

Okay, This is how equipment behave.

The equipment will stay on the creature for as long as it lives. When Chromium, the Mutable changes, the equipment will still remain attached until you decide to attach it to another creature.

In short, the equipment that is attached would remain onto Chromium, the Mutable for as long as he/she doesn't get killed.

Heavenly_Fae on The Ur-Dragon's Dragons

3 months ago

Hi multimedia,

Thank you for all of your suggestions.

Let me explain why I run some of the cards you consider cutting (Even though you're probably right and I will probably try it like you made it) The main reason why I am playing so many tapped fetches and tapped lands is to make the deck slower intentionally. It makes my opponents in my play group see me as "less of a threat". I don't mind playing slower so my end game can be more explosive. I was also playing these slow fetches and dual lands to have more mana with Prismatic Geoscope though I believe that you already saw irdue to the fact that you would consider cutting it. I usually fetch two basics when I know I don't need the duals for now making me able to fetch check duals and have them enter untapped.

I play Chromium, the Mutable because my meta has some heavy counter/control decks out there, so it helps to have him sometimes.

Regarding tutors like Eladamri's Call I tend to not run many, if not any tutor, in my decks. Maybe I'm not smart, but I like to play the top for my deck. Luck of the draw I guess. I do understand why you would want to tutor some of those dragons though.

I do need to ask why you would cut Zendikar Resurgent though. It seems great in my opinion, more mana to cast my big creatures and card draw on the top of that sounds great. I might be wrong thought.

All of your other suggestion are fair and I see why you would make the changes. I will try the deck with your changes on some nondescript application. If you have anything else for the deck, I would love to hear it!

Rhadamanthus on Chromium the Mutable--is discard necessary?

3 months ago

Use double square brackets around a card's name to create a pop-up: Chromium, the Mutable

You're not required to use the ability if you don't want to. An ability that's written like "[cost] : [effect]" is called an "activated ability". You activate it by paying the cost, and then you get the effect. In most cases you can activate an ability like this any time you'd normally be able to play an Instant spell.

The value of Chromium the Mutable's ability is that you can use it to protect Chromium from certain kinds of spells and abilities. The "hexproof" ability given by the effect means Chromium can't be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control. You can activate Chromium's ability in response to an opponent's spell or ability that targets it, and Chromium will be safe.

Kogarashi on Chromium the Mutable--is discard necessary?

3 months ago

Please link cards with double square brackets to make it easier to understand the question.

[[Chromium, the Mutable]]

Chromium, the Mutable

Chromium's last ability is an activated ability. If you want the effect (the part after the colon), you activate it by paying the cost (the part before the colon, which in this case is discarding a card). If you don't want the effect, don't activate it. You don't have to activate the ability to use Chromium.

This means you either have a Flying 7/7 dragon (chose not to activate the ability), or a Hexproof 1/1 human (chose to activate the ability).

It's important to note that if you have no cards in hand, or something else preventing you from discarding cards somehow, you can't pay the cost for Chromium's ability and thus can't activate it.

Rhadamanthus on Does Scion Retain Hexproof and ...

3 months ago

It will be a 1/1 human with hexproof and no other abilities that can't be blocked this turn. It will have the name, mana cost (and therefore color), and card types/supertypes (i.e. legendary, creature, artifact, etc.) of the second dragon, but that's it.

Figuring out a permanent's characteristics is based on the Layer system, and the layers get applied in a specific order. Relevant to this example: copy effects are in layer 1, type changing effects are in layer 4, ability adding/removing effects are in layer 6, and P/T changing effects are in layer 7. The type changing, ability removing, and P/T setting effects from the resolution of Chromium, the Mutable 's ability will always be applied on top of the copy effect generated by the resolution of Scion of the Ur-Dragon 's ability.

Kogarashi on Does Scion Retain Hexproof and ...

3 months ago

The Scion's copy ability overwrites its own abilities, though, as most copy abilities do. So if you activate the Scion to copy first a Shivan Dragon and then Chromium, the Mutable , then activate Chromium's ability once that copy effect resolves but before the other, the effect copying Shivan Dragon should still replace the Scion's traits with whatever's on Shivan Dragon , not just add to them. Shivan Dragon doesn't have hexproof or unblockable, so the Scion would not retain those from the Chromium ability.

Basing this off the ruling on Scion of the Ur-Dragon where it loses its copy ability when it copies:

  • When Scion of the Ur-Dragon becomes a copy of another Dragon, it loses its copy ability for the rest of the turn. (2006-09-25)

It's not copying the other dragons' traits in addition to whatever it has.

DragonGodPrince on Does Scion Retain Hexproof and ...

3 months ago

If I activate Scion of the Ur-Dragon 's ability twice and make him Chromium, the Mutable last and activate Chromium's ability to make him unblockable, hexproof and a 1/1 human. Does he stay a human with no abilities except unblockable and hexproof and ignore the second dragon transformation? Or does Scion of the Ur-Dragon retain unblockable and hexproof but his abilities and base power and toughness change into the second dragon I transform him into?

Load more

Chromium, the Mutable occurrence in decks from the last year

Commander / EDH:

All decks: 0.0%

Standard:

All decks: 0.08%