Canopy Claws


Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Custom Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Casual Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Judgment (JUD) Common

Combos Browse all

Canopy Claws


Target creature loses flying until end of turn.

Flashback (Green) (You may play this card from your graveyard for its flashback cost. Then remove it from the game.)

Canopy Claws Discussion

Gidgetimer on Does Phyrexian Splicer require a ...

3 weeks ago

You have to have valid targets for each part of a spell or ability to cast/activate it. Just like you MUST have six valid targets in order to cast Hex , you must have two targets for Phyrexian Splicer and the first target must have the ability you want to grant the second.

This gatherer ruling that looks like it might support your argument but is simply trying to clarify that abilities only fizzle if all targets are illegal and will do as much as they can otherwise.

"If the target which is having the ability removed does not have that ability during the resolution of this effect, then this effect still grants the chosen ability. The reason is that the second target is still legal even if the first one is not."

You can't give your Bear Cub flying without a flier to to target. However; your opponent casting Canopy Claws on the flier in response to the Phyrexian Splicer activation will not stop the Bear Cub from gaining flying.

clayperce on

3 years ago

Hi Junius! I'm always excited to see another Rith deck here at TappedOut -- big kudos to you for running the big purple-winged Dragon too!

To counter flyers, I like Thornweald Archer and Bower Passage. Some other options include Earthbind, Grounded, Dust Corona, and Skyblinder Staff. I generally shy away from "until end of turn" effects, but if really bad, maybe a Canopy Claws or Crossbow Ambush?

Of course all of that is adds, and I know you wanted some advice on cutting! Cuts are always SO hard, but I'll take a look later this weekend. Please tag me if I get sidetracked and don't make it back!

No data for this card yet.