Archmage Ascension

Enchantment

At the beginning of each end step, if you drew two or more cards this turn, you may put a quest counter on Archmage Ascension.

As long as Archmage Ascension has six or more quest counters on it, if you would draw a card, you may instead search your library for a card, put that card into your hand, then shuffle your library.

View at Gatherer Browse Alters

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

Cardhoarder (MTGO) 100%

0.02 TIX $0.02 Foil

Ebay

Have (4) DruneGrey , YossarianLives , hosshughes , rakdos24
Want (0)

Recent Decks

Load more

Archmage Ascension Discussion

Skamakka1 on The Echo of Silence

3 weeks ago

czarkingrex I am running Mystical Tutor, but I will definitely consider adding Archmage Ascension. As for the other two, while I do think I need more card draw, I don't think these fit the bill. I don't like tapping out for creatures and they are not guaranteed to get through.

My win condition is to either overrun you with cards like Docent of Perfection  Flip or to steal your win condition with Desertion or Guile. Also kicked Rite of Replication can often seal the deal on its own. I've been thinking of adding in a combo, but haven't decided on one I really like

czarkingrex on The Echo of Silence

3 weeks ago

I'm mostly curious about your wincon other than potentially raising a mini-army of drakes and constructs off of your permanents. I feel like, perhaps with something akin to Surrakar Spellblade or Jhessian Thief to put pressure on opponents, you'd have some better survivability. I'm at least surprised not to see Archmage Ascension and Mystical Tutor since it fits your theme so strongly!

Ryjo on Confusing synergy between Sylvan Library ...

1 month ago

If Archmage Ascension is online, it creates a replacement effect anytime you would draw. So each turn, instead of drawing three cards, you can search for three cards, and since you didn't technically draw any cards with Sylvan Library, you don't have to put 2 back or pay life to keep the cards.

C4rnif3X on Confusing synergy between Sylvan Library ...

1 month ago

I think I found an interesting and confusing synergy.. Since I want to play with these cards in a commander deck, I want to clear up some things i'm confused about.

So since Sylvan Library has you draw cards.. What happens when Archmage Ascension is online? You're technically not drawing cards with archmage online, so can you just fetch 2 cards from sylvan without the "downside"?

Denial048 on Archmage Ascension + Kynaios and ...

1 month ago

Archmage Ascensions first ability has an intervening if clause. It wont trigger at all unless youve already drawn two or more cards by the time the end step begins.

Basically, you go to end step, AA's 'if' clause checks if you have drawn two cards yet, and since you have not, it does not trigger. So Kynaios and Tiro of Meletis do not trigger AA

VraskaTheCursed on Archmage Ascension + Kynaios and ...

1 month ago

I have a ruling question about which I have a few doubts, even after reading the rulings in the Gatherer.

If I have an Archmage Ascension and Kynaios and Tiro of Meletis (or another card that lets you draw at the beginning of the end step), does the ascension get a counter? or do I have to have drawn 2 cards that turn to even put the trigger on the stack?

Thanks in advance

Load more