Arcane Savant

Arcane Savant

Creature — Human Wizard

Before you shuffle your deck to start the game, you may reveal this card from your deck and exile an instant or sorcery card you drafted that isn't in your deck.

When Arcane Savant enters the battlefield, copy a card you exiled with cards named Arcane Savant. You may cast the copy without paying its mana cost.

Browse Alters View at Gatherer

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Conspiracy: Take the Crown (CN2) Rare

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Arcane Savant Discussion

dbpunk on EDH Conspiracy Help

2 years ago

It's really up to your play group. Like it'd be easy to decide based on what your play group says.

For example, I wouldn't want you to sideboard Arcane Savant and sideboard something like Bribery or Cryptic Command.

DrukenReaps on EDH Conspiracy Help

2 years ago

You can use them but simply put they don't work.

Each of these has an effect referencing a drafted card but in a commander game no card was drafted so by official rules you can't get a token out of Caller of the Untamed and cant get a spell out of Arcane Savant.

If you really want to use these then talk with your playgroup. Personally I would say that the cards can exile a sideboard card at the start of the game. If you don't have a regular group I wouldn't bother.

ERoss8 on EDH Conspiracy Help

2 years ago

I'm confused about certain cards in Conspiracy and Conspiracy: Take the Crown that reference drafting cards, like Caller of the Untamed or Arcane Savant or even Noble Banneret . Are they legal, and if so, how do they work?

Note: it says on the gatherer that they are, but I'm not sure how they would work

TwoIdiots on Baby's First Multiplayer Cube (cards to include?)

2 years ago

CHANGELOG 29.05.17

Major overhaul to account for finalized archetypes.

CUTS:

GOLD:

WHITE:

BLUE:

BLACK:

RED:

GREEN:

None

ADDITIONS:

COLORLESS:

GOLD:

BLACK:

RED:

Note: With Welder and Daretti in the picture, I think its worth reconsidering whether we want Spine of Ish Sah. Its just pure value at that point (still slow to reduce opponents board presence, but you get your artifacts directly to the battlefield)

BLUE:

White:

A few thoughts:

If we want to include Eldrazi Displacer, then I think we have to keep the painlands, and should probably include some other colorless utility lands as well. I would be okay to lose some of the tap for any color lands as well as the artefact lands for this purpose. Its also possible that the Displacer is also just too good, in which case we can add the trilands over the painlands to give Simic Domain a bit more oomph.

Speaking of: Im not familiar with the enablers for Domain, so Im gonna be relying on you a bit to help flesh out the archetype. I look forward to your suggestions!

Anyways, let me know what you think about cuts/additions and I will make the changes. After that, we should probably just switch to cubetutor to get a better idea of where we are with each archetype.

/N

WillySmasher on Brago casual deck - I ...

2 years ago

As Izu_Korasu said it depends on the build but here's a few cards I found that seem pretty cheeky

life gain:

Airdrop Aeronauts

Angel of Mercy

Angelic Chorus

draw/filtering:

Angelic Gift

Augur of Bolas

Augury Owl

Angel of Invention

all around fun/broken/mean:

Archaeomancer

Archangel of Strife

Auramancer

Cataclysmic Gearhulk

Cathars' Crusade

This is just a short list I looked through on the first 2 pages here Good luck with the build and if you start a decklist I'd love if you posted it so we could check it out

acbooster on How does Arcane Savant work ...

2 years ago

It will.

Storm doesn't care where the spell was cast from, just that it was cast. Arcane Savant says that you cast the copy, so you'll get the copy from the Savant, then another copy for each spell cast before the copy.

Poopernoodles on How does Arcane Savant work ...

2 years ago

So I am building a cube currently and in it I run a storm archetype and I also have the card Arcane Savant say I chose Mind's Desire as Savants outside the game target. When savant ETBs does Desire "storm off"?

Load more