Angel of Grace

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Arena Legal
Standard Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Brawl Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Ravnica Allegiance (RNA) Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Angel of Grace

Creature — Angel

Flash

Flying

When Angel of Grace enters the battlefield, until end of turn, damage that would reduce your life total to less than 1 reduces it to 1 instead.

, Exile Angel of Grace from your graveyard: Your life total becomes 10.

Browse Alters

Angel of Grace Discussion

epartica on Angels Brought The Apocalypse

1 week ago

Yes I've been playing this deck every chance I get! Basically every up-date I've done on this deck has been because after play testing it and realizing what I need to change or just new cards I have acquired. So right now I currently own all these cards expect some of the special lands. I just order them on tcgplayer. Mistveil Plains and Emeria, The Sky Ruin is a must for me, however I'm wondering if having to many special lands is going to be a bad thing.

heyzeus_ I see your point on Lumbering Battlement where it would just be better for me to drop an angel rather using it only for board wipe protections, so instead I replaced it with Steelshaper's Gift . I also swapped Angelheart Vial for Coercive Portal because it grants me two things which is the chance to draw or a board wipe which is what i'm after. None of my friends take extra turns so it makes sense to actually not have Ugin's Nexus in this deck because there are defiantly stronger cards that i have.

Honestly I'm having a hard time trying to figure out what else to add besides expensive cards such as Land Tax , Admonition Angel , Avacyn, Angel of Hope , Archangel of Thune , Stoneforge Mystic , Linvala, Keeper of Silence , Angel of Jubilation , The Immortal Sun , Baneslayer Angel , Crucible of Worlds , and maybe Angel of Grace . But in my eyes these are the big buys that 10 dollars or up which probably wont get in tell summer.

FlabbyAbs on Naya Reclamation

3 weeks ago

I see. I’d like to playtest this online tonight. I don't see a good reason for gates in here. Maybe a couple to get in a pinch with Route. I definitely am digging Skarrgan with Reclamation and have been eager to think of a build. This looks pretty well rounded. However, I'd like to poke at other versions with Angel of Grace and maybe even some Growth-Chamber Guardian which have been excellent in my my Rec Bant Flash build.

DovinBaanned on None

3 weeks ago

Hey guys! One of the members of Magic the Gathering in China posted in a japanese blog the future changes that comes with Wrath of the Spark. The entire post is in japanese, so I'm tried to translate the best I can do. There are interesting things in that.

---------------- 

War of the Spark is the conclusion of a monumental story that starts in Oath of the Gatewatch, and the end comes with news, like news rules text, template and such. Let's take a look the most important changes. Next articles with be for the minor changes. For obvioulsy reasons, I can't use cards of the WAR set yet, so for this post, I'm going to use most recent cards to give appropiate examples.

1. Ney Keyword: Fury Some creatures are so excited to crush its opponents or have bad humour that have an uncontrollable thirst to battle. Fury is a new keyword that represents an existing ability. A creature with fury must attack if able.

This ability was in Magic since its born with cards like Juggernauth, so give it a keyword is the natural next step (it takes most than 25 years! So...slooow step). The big reason for keyworded the ability is for giving official rules to clarify some situations that people may don't know (like, if a creature with this ability have a cost associated with attack, its controller may choose not to pay it. iF the cost isn't paid, the creature can't attack at all, even if it has fury). Other reason is we wanted to use this ability more often, but not as much to become an evergreen ability. Let's say that the ability now become decidious: we can use it in every set, but that doesn't mean that this ability would appear in all sets onward. And now, the color pie would take this ability more serious: Now Fury is primary in Red (in form of creatures with fury and effects that grants fury permanently/temporary), secondary in Green (in form of creatures with fury), and terciary in Blue (only in form of effects that grants fury temporary). The ability is no longer in Black and White, even if some old white and black cards interact with it in the past.


Example

Angler Turtle

Old

Creatures your opponents control attack each combat if able.

New

Creatures your opponents control have fury. (They attack each combat if able.)

Rubblebelt Recluse

Old

Rubblebelt Recluse attacks each combat if able.

New

Fury.


In WAR, and maybe in the two or three next sets we would try to always put the reminder text of this ability for people to familiarizyte. Gradually, we would put that reminder text less until we don't needed to put at all (at that point, this new ability also would save space in card's text).

In most cases, "must attack if able" becoming a keyword doesn’t represent a functional change. There are two exceptions: - Previously, if a permanent must attack if able by a resolving spell or ability (such as Imaginary Threats), and then that permanent lost its abilities, it would still must attack if able. This was because "must attack if able" wasn’t an ability; it was just something true about the permanent. Now, the permanent will gain the ability fury, and it will lose this ability along with its other abilities. - Previously, if a group of permanents must attack if able by a resolving spell or ability, permanents that joined that group or entered the battlefield after that spell or ability resolved would also must attack if able. This was because the effect that cause them to attack if able wasn’t changing any of those permanents’ characteristics. Now, a permanent that enters the battlefield or comes under your control after the spell or ability resolves won’t have "must attack if able" as it wasn’t under your control at the appropriate time to gain it.

2. New Rules Term: Revive

The War of the Spark set introduces the wording shortcut "revive." The word "revive" on a Magic card simply means "put X creature card from X graveyard onto battlefield." The two phrases are interchangeable. Similarly, the word "revived" means "was put onto the battlefield from a graveyard."

The term "revive" is used only if a creature is moving from a graveyard to the battlefield. (The complete phrase "Put X card from a graveyard onto the battlefield" is used if the object is likely to have a different card type that isn't a monster.)

Many older cards will be updated in the Oracle card reference to use this new term. This is not a functional change.

Like dies, the word "revive" is too intuitive, but for safe reasons (and like the ability Fury), we would try to put a reminder text on cards that revive to clarify that word, only for some sets.

Unlikely dies, "revive" has some variations. Let's take a look:

EFFECT THAT PUT A CREATURE CARD FROM YOUR GRAVEYARD TO THE BATTLEFIELD UNDER YOUR CONTROL

(Don't target) Revive your creature card.

(Target) Revive your target creature card.

EFFECT THAT PUT A CREATURE CARD FROM AN OPPONENTS GRAVEYARD UNDER YOUR CONTROL

(Don't target) Revive one opponent's creature card under your control.

(Target) Revive target creature card from an opponent under your control.

EFFECT THAT PUT A CREATURE CARD FROM ANY GRAVEYARD UNDER YOUR CONTROL

(Don't target) Revive one creature card under your control.

(Target) Revive one target creature card under your control.

When an effect that revives says "your creature card", that means a creature card in your graveyard. When says "one creature card", it can be a creature card in any graveyard.


Examples

Zombify

Old

Return target creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield.

New

Revive your target creature card.

Macabre Mockery

Old

Put target creature card from an opponent's graveyard onto the battlefield under your control. It gets +2/+0 and gains haste until end of turn. Sacrifice it at the beginning of the next end step.

New

Revive target creature card from an opponent under your control. It gets +2/+0 and gains haste until end of turn. Sacrifice it at the beginning of the next end step.

Arclight Phoenix

Old

Flying, haste

At the beginning of combat on your turn, if you've cast three or more instant and sorcery spells this turn, return Arclight Phoenix from your graveyard to the battlefield.

New

Flying, haste

At the beginning of combat on your turn, if you've cast three or more instant and sorcery spells this turn, revive Arclight Phoenix.


3. "[Permanent card name]" to "This [permanent type]"

Abilities on a permanent that functions on the battlefied now refer to themselves as "this [permanent type]" rather than by using their card name.

Furthermore, abilities on a permanent that functions in zones other than the battlefied refer to themselves as "this card".


Examples

Capture Sphere

Old

Flash

Enchant creature

When Capture Sphere enters the battlefield, tap enchanted creature.

New

__Flash_

Enchant creature

When this aura enters the battlefield, tap enchanted creature.

Angel of Grace

Old

When Angel of Grace enters the battlefield, until end of turn, damage that would reduce your life total to less than 1 reduces it to 1 instead.

{4}{W}{W}, Exile Angel of Grace from your graveyard: Your life total becomes 10.

New

When this creature enters the battlefield, until end of turn, damage that would reduce your life total to less than 1 reduces it to 1 instead.

{4}{W}{W}, Exile this card from your graveyard: Your life total becomes 10.

Nullhide Ferox

Old

Hexproof

You can't cast noncreature spells.

2: Nullhide Ferox loses all abilities until end of turn. Any player may activate this ability.

If a spell or ability an opponent controls causes you to discard Nullhide Ferox, put it onto the battlefield instead of putting it into your graveyard.

New

Hexproof

You can't cast noncreature spells.

2: This creature loses all abilities until end of turn. Any player may activate this ability.

If a spell or ability an opponent controls causes you to discard this card, put it onto the battlefield instead of putting it into your graveyard.


This change remove the problem for card's text that are long only because the name of the card is long. Also, this change now let us put names a little bit larger on cards without the fear to increase the size of that card's text.

This change would not affect legendary permanents or planeswalkers. Instants and sorceries are also unaffected. Lightning Strike would not say "This sorcery deals 3 damage to any target." Those cards would still use their card names.

3. Cast certain card type

The phrase "Cast a X Spell" has been changed to only "Cast a X". In a Magic game, the only, and only thing that can be "cast" is a spell. You can't cast a token or your library (belive me, you can't). So, since all players already knows that and there is no confusion with that concept, it's no more necessary to remember to players that they are actually casting spells, so the word "spell" would be removed in phares that says "Cast a X Spell".


Examples

Dovin's Acuity

Old

Whenever you cast an instant spell during your main phase, you may return Dovin’s Acuity to its owner’s hand.

New

Whenever you cast an instant during your main phase, you may return this enchantment to its owner’s hand.

Danitha Capashen, Paragon

Old

Aura and Equipment spells you cast cost 1 less to cast.

New

Auras and Equipments you cast cost 1 less to cast.


This change would not affect abilities that don't care type of spells. Abilities that only say "cast a spell" (without specifyng what type of spell) would not be changed in any ways. Furthermore, abilities that preclude a type of spell would also not be changed. So, for example, an ability that says "Non-creatures spells you cast..." would not be changed.

4. Owner's

We are removing the word "owner's" from texts since we noticed this clarification is unnecesary. If a permanent return to the hand, always return to its owner's hand, even if the controller of that permanent when it left the battlefield was not its owner. When you gain control of a permanent, you don't really gain ownership of that permanent (this is not the 95s when the ante was still legal). Removing that word would save space in texts and remove redundancy. This also applies to cards returning to library.


Examples

Exclusion Mage

Old

When Exclusion Mage enters the battlefield, return target creature an opponent controls to its owner's hand.

New

When this creature enters the battlefield, return target creature an opponent controls to the hand.

Swirling Torrent

Old

Put target creature on top of its owner's library.

New

Put target creature on top of the library.


Some few cards care about the owner of a card, or only allowed to return a card to a specific player's hand/library. Those cards would not be affected by this change.

Uff! Those are interesting changes. To end this (huge) post, I would revel two minor changes. The complete minor changes will be revealed one week before the prerelease in the official page. So stay tuned.

1. Attacks/blocks and activate/trigger

We would replace some phrases: a) "attack and/or block" --> "battle".  "activated abilities can (or can't) be activated" --> "abilities can (or can't) be activated" c) "triggered abilities can (or can't) trigger" --> "abilities can (or can't) trigger"

Those change are maded only to reduce the size of card's text.

Triggered abilities are not more considered activated when they trigger. So, the only thing that can be activated in Magic is an activated ability (this is not a functional change). So, an effect that prevents abilities to be activated (like Lawmage's binding) only prevent the activation of activated abilities (too redundant right?). That effect DON'T prevent a triggered ability to trigger.

Lawmage's Binding

Old

Enchanted creature can't attack or block, and its activated abilities can't be activated.

New

Enchanted creature can't battle and its abilities can't be activated.

End of the post.

FSims81 on Orzhov Control w/ gameplay videos

1 month ago

I put one in my build main board and one sideboard just to see how it does. The thought of having Lyra out and flashing in a 6/5 life linker that keeps me alive if I need feels pretty good. You're probably right that more Seraph of the Scales is the answer but that's also expensive and I already have two Angel of Grace . I'll let you know if it makes any difference for me after Saturday

FSims81 on Orzhov Control w/ gameplay videos

1 month ago

I built this deck and took it to my LGS. It felt like it was lacking threats with only 4 creatures mainboard. What are your thoughts on adding 2 Angel of Grace or something similar just for additional bodies that benefit from Lyra?

PeeBee on Defeating A Sandwich Only Makes It Tastier

1 month ago

With the addition of Ravnica Alliegance you now have additional angel's graces with Angel of Grace and I assume this should be an auto-include in this deck. I would replace a number of Aegis of the Gods because although the hexproof is very relevant, I assume it would die too easily in modern and leave you vulnerable anyway. Maybe x2 at the top end of the deck.

HARDsofty on She's My Angel

1 month ago

Angel of Grace from the new set is a good Angel to use.

I'm considering that card for my Modern deck.

Load more

Angel of Grace occurrence in decks from the last year

Standard:

All decks: 0.13%