Akki Avalanchers

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Custom Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Casual Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Champions of Kamigawa (CHK) Common

Combos Browse all

Akki Avalanchers

Creature — Goblin Warrior

Sacrifice a land: Akki Avalanchers gets +2/+0 until end of turn. Play this ability only once each turn.

Akki Avalanchers Discussion

legendofa on How Much Could Kamigawa Be ...

10 months ago

Kitsune sounds okay.

For the creatures, I have no problem dropping Ogres. To work around the land destruction CMC requirements, I think low-cost akki would be general permanent destruction/forced sac (Akki Underminer) and land sac for benefit (Akki Avalanchers), and higher-up ones would be the targeted land destruction. As a rough eyeball, maybe for a etb Stone Rain on a 2/2 creature? Comparing to Avalanche Riders.

Ogres out, Kitsune in, Humans pretty balanced through the colors. I like it.

seshiro_of_the_orochi Snake Ninja. Yes. Do you have any special reason for why Sultai ninjas might be wrong, or is it just a gut feeling?

Am I completely taking over this thread?

Madcookie on Interaction between copying and abilities ...

11 months ago

It took me awhile but this is what I've found.

So the interaction is this you pay , then Lazav, the Multifarious becomes a copy of Akki Avalanchers and gains its ability. You sack a land and Lazav gets +2/+0 until end of turn and applies a restriction on the ability. Then if you want to continue the pumping, for each use of the ability you must pay and have Lazav, the Multifarious become a copy of Akki Avalanchers again, thus overwriting his previous (despite the same) "face" and triggering the 706.2 rule and gaining a new instance of Akki Avalanchers's printed ability. Now while the new ability shares a name with a previously used ability, it can still be activated because it is another instance of the same ability (see rule 602.5c below)

706.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object’s characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode, targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on). The “copiable values” are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name, mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by its face-down status, and by “as . . . enters the battlefield” and “as . . . is turned face up” abilities that set power and toughness (and may also set additional characteristics). Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, and counters are not copied.

602.5c If an object acquires an activated ability with a restriction on its use from another object, that restriction applies only to that ability as acquired from that object. It doesn’t apply to other, identically worded abilities.

Cheers!

P.S. I'm 99% sure I'm right and really hope I'm since this took me 30 min ;/

Coward_Token on Interaction between copying and abilities ...

11 months ago

Lazav, the Multifarious copies a Akki Avalanchers in its controller's graveyard and uses the Avalanchers' ability. Lazav then uses its native ability to copy the Avalanchers again. Can it use the land-saccing ability once more? What if it similarly copies Karador, Ghost Chieftain?

(Assume no flickering is involved.)

C4nidae on Gruul - Planebattle Kamigawa

1 year ago

Ga, as seguintes cartas eu aconselho a tirar: Akki Drillmaster - Voce nao tem bichao pra dar impeto; Akki Raider - Voce nao destroi lands;Akki Underling - Seu deck e rapido, nunca vai ter sete ou mais cartas na mao; Orochi Sustainer e Sakura-Tribe Scout - Voce nao precisa gerar muita mana num deck rapido; Soratami Cloud Chariot - Muito caro, foge da estrategia e o efeito e meio bosta; Kumano's Blessing, Lifegift e Seed the Land - horrvel; Blinding Powder - Nao faz sentido com o deck (voce quer matar rapido, nao controlar);NO SIDE: Dense Canopy e Sunder from Within - perfeito, os outros 3 - horrivel;

Cartas que voce pode colocar: Akki Avalanchers - aggro, warrior e fortinho, apesar de suicida; Blood Rites - poderia ser bem util com tantas criaturas;First Volley - complemento de dano e arcana para unir;Soulblast - Pode ser... Glacial Ray - dano mais apelao do PB Kamigawa (une e e barato);Goblin Cohort - muito apelaozinho, funciona com bastante criaturas;Honden of Infinite Rage e Honden of Life's Web - olhas os combinhos com um monte de criaturinhas e dano;Kashi-Tribe Elite - Protege suas cobras lendarias e ainda e um guerreiro cobra fortinho, cheio de fuleragem;Kodama's Might - Pump verde indispensavel, une em arcana ainda;Lure - Kill condition facil com tantas criaturas;Oni of Wild Places - Poderia ser um bichao pro deck;Path of Anger's Flame - Olha esse pump geral, arcano...como que tu nao coloca isso num aggro vermelho?Patron of the Akki - Patronos sao muito apeloes: este aqui e perfeito pro seu deck;Sakura-Tribe Elder - Esse cara pode atacar, bloquear e ainda pegar um land em resposta: apelaozissimo;Serpent Skin - Regenerar pode ser muito util num deck aggro; Stampeding Serow - Barato, forte, alem de voltar cobras pra mao pra combar com as Sosuke's Summons;No-Dachi - Gosto muito desta kataninha...Manriki-Gusari - Pode ser MAIN, pode ser SIDE, para aggro e muito bom;Shuko - Pumpinho rapidao;TERRENO DUPLO Pinecrest Ridge: se tem, por que nao usar? Eu usaria.

Agora voce pensa e acerta ai... faca suas escolhas, ajeite a curva pelos graficos e try again. Olhe de novo no Gatherer se achar necessario. Veja o custo total das cartas. Da pra deixar ele bem legal.

Coward_Token on Aleshatralala. Back and forth from the graveyard.

1 year ago

I of course meant "2-or-less-power"

Also if you want to be extra cruel with the Herald there's e.g. Copper-Leaf Angel and Akki Avalanchers

sonnet666 on Player Sacrifice Land + Evolving ...

2 years ago

Basically, Sacrificing Evolving Wilds is a cost to activate either its ability or to activate Akki Avalanchers. You can't spend the same land to activate both abilities.

It's the same way with mana. If you had one blue mana in your mana pool, could you use it to cast both Serum Visions AND Preordain?

No. Of course not.

phrosen63 on Player Sacrifice Land + Evolving ...

2 years ago

Can the 'sacrifice land' keyword be "abused" with cards that benefit from it?

For instance: I have an Evolving Wilds and a Akki Avalanchers in play. I decide to use Akki's ability to sacrifice a land (as well as boosting akki by +2/+0) and choose Evolving Wilds as my target. -Does this mean I get to fetch a basic land card as of Evolving Wild's sac ability?

If yes, can this be used against opponent's cards that forces a player to sacrifice a land as well? (ie Destructive Force)

Dk1997 on Turn 2 pauper win

3 years ago

ive actually have considered all of those especially Insolent Neonate , Flamekin Brawler and Akki Avalanchers also Spark Elemental is an uncommon

Load more

No data for this card yet.