Abyssal Nightstalker

Legality

Format Legality
Noble Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Vintage Legal
Casual Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Portal Second Age (P02) Uncommon

Combos Browse all

Abyssal Nightstalker

Creature — Nightstalker

Whenever Abyssal Nightstalker attacks and isn't blocked, defending player discards a card.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

P02

Ebay

Recent Decks

Abyssal Nightstalker Discussion

Boza on "If unblocked" and Removing from ...

1 year ago

No.

A creature is considered not blocked only after the beginning of the declare blockers phase, obviously if it was not blocked. Until then it is simply an attacking creature.

Also, from Gatherer for Abyssal Nightstalker:

4/15/2013: An ability that triggers when something "attacks and isn't blocked" triggers in the declare blockers step after blockers are declared if (1) that creature is attacking and (2) no creatures are declared to block it. It will trigger even if that creature was put onto the battlefield attacking rather than having been declared as an attacker in the declare attackers step.

UniqueUserID on "If unblocked" and Removing from ...

1 year ago

I read an user comment on gather about 2 very old cards and the interaction seemed a bit wonky/interesting.

Abyssal Nightstalker if unblocked will make the opponent discard a card. Reconnaissance can remove any creature from combat.

So if I use Reconnaissance on my Abyssal Nightstalker after I have declared attackers I can remove him from combat before blockers can be declared. Forcing them to discard a card every turn?

I feel like some oracle text is missing...