Absorb Vis

Legality

Format Legality
Vintage Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Legacy Legal
Modern Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Pauper Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Conspiracy: Take the Crown Common
Modern Masters Common
Duel Decks: Sorin vs. Tibalt Common
Conflux Common

Combos Browse all

Absorb Vis

Sorcery

Target player loses 4 life and you gain 4 life.

Basic landcycling 1B (1B, Discard this card: Search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.)

View at Gatherer Browse Alters

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

Cardhoarder (MTGO)

0.01 TIX $0.02 Foil

Ebay

Have (3) ironax , hosshughes , the.beanpole
Want (0)

Recent Decks

Load more

Absorb Vis Discussion

Muggins84 on Curse of Time

1 day ago

Oh yeah three more things to consider. Twisted Abomination & Absorb Vis. Both allow you to get Swamps to your hand and double as a means of doing damage. Twisted Abomination( I know he is a creature but his main use is getting Swamps to your hand) is great when they are out of a hand and have no creatures + he has cheap regeneration and is pretty strong. Absorb vis is damage + life gain if need be and otherwise it's good for keeping the Swamps coming. Exsanguinate is a decent finisher and it doesn't target so player hexproof will not help against it. Again I hope I was of help or at the least provided some food for thought.

Rhadamanthus on Timing of cards that do ...

8 months ago

Goblin Flectomancer (not sure why it didn't link for you, your spelling looks right)

You stay alive. Losing the game for having 0 or less life is one of the game's "state based actions" (SBAs). The key thing here is that SBAs are checked right before each time a player would get priority to take another action. This means the game waits until after Absorb Vis is completely finished resolving to check SBAs. You'll be at 3 life at that time, so there's nothing to worry about.

hyena69 on Timing of cards that do ...

8 months ago

goblin flectomancer]] Absorb Vis

Let's say I'm at 3 life and so is my opponent. I play an absorb vis to kill of my opponent, and the sneaky git somehow flashes out a goblin flectomancer to change the target from him to me (saccing the gobbo). Do I stay at 3 life or do I go to -1 first and die, before gaining 4 life?

(for some reason I can't link the gobbo, but here is the rules text:

Sacrifice Goblin Flectomancer: You may change the targets of target instant or sorcery spell.)

PistonGolem on Burn the Witch! (modern burn/aggro)

1 year ago

Absorb Vis is really expensive in terms of mana. Try Alms of the Vein, even though it does three damage instead, but it does offer the madness trigger from Lightning Axe.

Rayenous on Official Spoiler Thread: Oath Of ...

1 year ago

@RubyRobin - Solemn Simulacrum and Sundering Titan both completely disagree with your assessment, as do I.

The statements Wizards made were in reference to the basic land in print at the time. - This is obviously changing.

Also, the statements they made were referring to land like Oboro, Palace in the Clouds, where if run a blue deck there would be no reason not to play at least one of these, even if your deck has no need for the 'extra ability'.

In the case of 'Wastes', it is intact the opposite... 'Wastes' are specifically being printed so that things like Solemn Simulacrum, Borderland Ranger or Absorb Vis can search for them, while not being hit by things like Blood Moon, Tectonic Edge or Sundering Titan.

If you are playing a non- deck running 'Waste', then Mystic Gate is not likely an upgrade, as you need neither the or the ... you likely don't have or to activate it... and there are potential downsides to running the gate. - But if you need and/or , then there's a fair chance you would be playing one anyway... even if you DON'T run 'Waste'