Abandoned Sarcophagus

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Standard Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Brawl Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Hour of Devastation (HOU) Rare

Combos Browse all

Abandoned Sarcophagus

Artifact

You may cast nonland cards with cycling from your graveyard.

If a card with cycling would be put into your graveyard from anywhere and it wasn't cycled, exile it instead.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

HOU

Ebay

Recent Decks

Abandoned Sarcophagus Discussion

cdkime on Leaden Galoshes

1 month ago

". . . battlefield, it remains on the battlefield instead" would be the proper wording. You do not need to use either "Leaden Galoshes" or "Equipped Creature" twice in the same sentence. For the word order, see Abandoned Sarcophagus and its ilk.

"Equipped creature loses flying and can't have or gain flying" would be the proper wording. See Archetype of Aggression.

Rhadamanthus on How to cycle with Abandoned ...

1 month ago

No, that isn't what "cast from graveyard" means.

Normally, the rules of the game just allow you to cast spells from your hand. You take it from your hand, put it onto the stack, make all the decisions and pay the costs, and then put it wherever it's supposed to go after it resolves: instants and sorceries go to the graveyard, and permanents (artifact, creature, enchantment, planeswalker) go to the battlefield.

Abandoned Sarcophagus gives you special permission to cast spells with cycling from your graveyard. This means you take it from the graveyard, put it onto the stack, and go through the rest of the process described above. It doesn't go to your hand at any point. Keep in mind that because of what the Sarcophagus' 2nd ability says, an instant or a sorcery will go to exile instead of the graveyard after it resolves, and a permanent will go to exile the next time it's supposed to go to the graveyard.

It's also important to note that cycling is an ability of the card, and activating an ability is different than casting a spell. The Sarcophagus doesn't allow you to cycle cards that are already in your graveyard.

Agusdakilla on How to cycle with Abandoned ...

1 month ago

How it works is the Drake Haven allows you to gain extra value when discarding a card and drawing a card with the Cycling mechanic, by letting you pay more and create a 2/2 Drake with Flying. You can only do this one time for each Drake Haven you control on the battlefield. Abandoned Sarcophagus then lets you cast those cards that you cycled from your graveyard, paying their normal mana cost. These cards are exiled after resolving. At no point do they reenter your hand.

Raysracing on How to cycle with Abandoned ...

1 month ago

I have bought several cards to try and make Drakes, but I'm not sure about the mechanics. These are the key cards: Hieroglyphic Illumination Drake Haven Abandoned Sarcophagus

My questions are: If the card says cast from graveyard, can I put in my hand instead? Then I discard it and make a Drake.

Does this combo loop in any way that allows me to keep discarding, casting from graveyard, make a drake, discard, repeat?

Thanks in advance and yes I am very new to this.

If I am all wrong, how does this work?

DESTRUCTOSQUID on Cycling Brawl attempt

1 month ago

I run a Grixis version of this cycling idea. I use Abandoned Sarcophagus. I used it in a standard mill deck a while back and being able to play your cycling spells whenever you want out of your graveyard is neat

razelfark on Flyrates

1 month ago

O just realized I forgot to mention Abrade as a solid card for deck main or side. This card is very good as a 3 damage kill spell, but also for it ability to destroy artifacts like Aethersphere Harvester and Heart of Kiran. It is also a solid card for helping deal with God-Pharaoh's Gift decks and cycling based decks that run Abandoned Sarcophagus.

dmtodd on Locust Plague

2 months ago

Love it! Great idea with the cycling. I started working on a similar deck with Locus God but didn't think about using Abandoned Sarcophagus or building so much cycling synergy.

Load more