mafteechr's classroom: Rules Exam 1

Features

mafteechr - 16 March 2011


Attention Tapped Out members! It's test time!


This is the first Tapped Out Rules Exam, presented by your friendly rules stickler, me! After I have graded all of the exams, I will post the answers and results. I will keep track of everyone's scores, because there will be more exams!

Here are the rules and guidelines:

1) All questions are two parts. Each question is worth a total of 10 points. The entire exam is worth 100 points.
2) You have one week to complete the exam. Entries will not be accepted after INSERTDATE at 11:59pm EDT.
3) All answers will be emailed to myself at mtgmafteechr@gmail.com. DO NOT POST ANSWERS ON THIS PAGE!
4) For the subject of the email, title it "Tapped Out Exam 1 - (insert user name)".
5) No help. Do the work yourself and do not ask anyone else. I'm testing YOUR knowledge.
6) The better the explanation, the more points you'll earn. Be precise and be thorough.
7) Good luck!

The Test


Situation 1:

KrazyCaley attacks squire1 with Thrummingbird . After squire1 declares no blockers, KrazyCaley casts Tainted Strike , which resolves. squire1 thus gains 3 poison counters.

Question 1

1a) Is this legal?
1b) Why or why not?


Situation 2:

backyardmetal casts Garruk Wildspeaker . After it resolves, he uses his +1 ability to untap two target lands. In response, Leafs_suck uses Lightning Bolt , destroying Garruk Wildspeaker .

Question 2

2a) Is this legal?
2b) Why or why not?


Situation 3:

On the battlefield under Legendinc's control is a Goblin Arsonist with a Basilisk Collar attached. Siegfried casts Burst Lightning , targeting the Goblin Arsonist . After it resolves, Goblin Arsonist is put into the graveyard. As his ability triggers, Legendinc targets Siegfried's Inferno Titan , destroying it. Legendinc gains 1 life.

Question 3

3a) Is this legal?
3b) Why or why not?


Situation 4:

yeaGO! is attacking with a Blightsteel Colossus . BrownDog5117 declares two Squadron Hawk s as blockers. yeaGO! assigns all 11 combat damage to one Squadron Hawk . The remaining 10 damage hits BrownDog5117 due to trample, resulting in 10 poison counters.

Question 4

4a) Is this legal?
4b) Why or why not?


Situation 5:

Nightwielder passes turn. Balthasar draws a card, and Nightwielder casts Silence during Nightwielder's upkeep. Balthasar casts the card he drew, Spell Pierce , in response, targeting the Silence .

Question 5

5a) Is this legal?
5b) Why or why not?


Situation 6:

insertcleverid, jessetaverne, and WiseHeart65 are in a free-for-all match. insertcleverid is at 3 life and jessetaverne is at 2 life. insertcleverid casts Forked Bolt , targeting jessetaverne. In response, WiseHeart65 casts Lightning Bolt , targeting insertcleverid. The Lightning Bolt resolves, killing insertcleverid. Then, the Forked Bolt resolves, killing jessetaverne. Thus, WiseHeart65 wins the match.

Question 6

6a) Is this legal?
6b) Why or why not?


Situation 7:

mafteechr and theemptyquiver are playing a Two-Headed Giant game against π_is_the_word and onthewater. During the former's turn, theemptyquiver attacks with Neurok Commando . No blockers are declared, and the team of π_is_the_word and onthewater take 2 damage, and theemptyquiver draws 2 cards.

Question 7

7a) Is this legal?
7b) Why or why not?


Situation 8:

M457ERSP00K attacks Gamer7129 with Hero of Bladehold . Both of Hero of Bladehold 's abilities trigger and resolve. No blockers are declared.

Question 8

8a) How much damage does Gamer7129 take?
8b) Why?


Situation 9:

DingoDan controls a Jace Beleren with 2 loyalty counters. memaw381 casts an Inferno Titan , which resolves. As Inferno Titan 's enter the battlefield ability triggers, memaw381 targets Jace Beleren for 2 damage, and DingoDan for 1 damage.

Question 9

9a) Is this legal?
9b) Why or why not?


Situation 10:

Kalani and muffludwig both control a Mimic Vat . During his turn, Kalani casts Naturalize , targeting muffludwig's Kuldotha Forgemaster . It resolves, and Kuldotha Forgemaster is put into muffludwig's graveyard.

Question 10

10a) If both players want to use their Mimic Vat 's imprint ability, which player will be able to successfully exile Kuldotha Forgemaster ?
10b) Why?


Remember:Deadline is March 24th at 11:59pm EDT and email answers to mtgmafteechr@gmail.com with the subject "Tapped Out Exam 1 - (insert user name)".Also, DO NOT POST ANSWERS ON THIS PAGE!

The next article in this series is mafteechr's classroom: Transforming

Legendinc says... #1

i feel really special being in an example. hahahhaha thanks!

March 16, 2011 7:28 p.m.

Siegfried says... #2

Do we need to quote official rules or oracle text in our answers, or is it enough to ramble on about rulings we're pretty sure are correct?

March 16, 2011 7:41 p.m.

sporkife says... #3

personally i would think that using the rules is cheating, since you can figure everything out just by reading the rules a lot...but that's just me. i did mine straight from memory, without looking at anything other than facebook (which doesn't have anything

March 16, 2011 8:54 p.m.

sporkife says... #4

btdubs, also question 5 appears to have some name switching issues.

March 16, 2011 9:07 p.m.

theemptyquiver says... #5

I see that. I read the question and understood it without reading it correctly. The mind fills in the blanks.

March 16, 2011 9:15 p.m.

mafteechr says... #6

I will have question 5 fixed.

Rules and Oracle quotes are not necessary.

March 16, 2011 10:36 p.m.

memaw381 says... #7

My name is in here. I feel so special! Haha.

Starting my answers right now!

March 17, 2011 10:37 a.m.

theemptyquiver says... #8

I think the last comment is illegal based on the quiz instructions and citing rule number 3.

Bonus credit?

March 17, 2011 2:01 p.m.

Xander574 says... #9

my bad i would delete but....

March 17, 2011 2:30 p.m.

KrazyCaley says... #10

  1. Yes, it is legal, because all plays I make are legal.
March 17, 2011 3:44 p.m.

KrazyCaley says... #11

@Xander - Deleted the comment you wanted deleted.

March 17, 2011 3:46 p.m.

Now my comment makes me look silly!!

HAHAH

March 17, 2011 3:49 p.m.

landot says... #13

re: post #10: to be precise, the March 25th, 2011 rules update will contain a new rule 600.1.9, stating that any play KrazyCaley makes is legal as long as it involves at least 1 blue card. Since Thrummingbird is blue, this play is legit.

Bonus credit: If painter's servant were on the board with any other color named, it would invoke rule 747.b.o.e.i.n.g, stating that whenever a card that would be blue is made un-blue, each player may punch KrazyCaley once, while shouting 'HOW YOU LIKE ME NOW?'

in other news, there's been an unusual spike in landot's sugar consumption today. reports at 11.

March 17, 2011 7:07 p.m.

Deco_y says... #14

I <3 this because i'm in an example. I'm doing this!

March 17, 2011 11:43 p.m.

Nightwielder says... #15

Awesomesauce!

March 17, 2011 11:58 p.m.

Balthasar says... #16

I thought it WASN'T a good thing to be an example in class. Or was that just how all the teacher's used me? :p

Nightwielder should get -20 points.... just because he's casting silence. It has nothing to do with the fact he's casting it on me... >.>

March 18, 2011 1:37 a.m.

Nightwielder says... #17

Indeed. All your spells are belong to us, muahaha!

March 18, 2011 2:03 a.m.

KrazyCaley says... #18

@landot

However, I use Counterspell to counter this effect. This is a legal play.

March 18, 2011 3:31 a.m.

whoa. didn't Counterspell incorporate Bind when I wasn't looking?

March 18, 2011 3:33 a.m.

supernick says... #20

Planar Cleansing its over. Boseiju, Who Shelters All

March 19, 2011 9:10 a.m.

doinitwrong says... #21

I agree with Balthasar that Nightwielder should get -20 points. The reason is that he's casting Silence and not card:Orim's Chant.

March 19, 2011 3:57 p.m.

dude1818 says... #22

Is there going to be a prize?

March 19, 2011 3:59 p.m.

You will also get -10 points for casting card:Orim's Chant without the kicker added because you got beat down by the other player's creatures.

The prize for this is the overwhelming satisfaction that you are very knowledgeable about all things Magic: the Gathering.

March 19, 2011 4:34 p.m.

sporkife says... #24

it's called Voidslime theemptyquiver :P

March 19, 2011 10:42 p.m.

HahahahshahahGz..

Touche

March 19, 2011 11 p.m.

metalmagic says... #26

Are the questions going to get tougher each round? This could be incentive to read up on my rules.

March 22, 2011 2:14 a.m.

MagnorCriol says... #27

It's like coming back from spring break to realize that the day after you left, the professor gave everyone a take-home exam to work on over the week.

Doesn't mean I won't finish it in time, though!

March 23, 2011 3:35 p.m.

I like the exam and that I'm in a question for the exam.

I will email my answers as soon as I'm done with my next class.

Great questions, on a few I will have to review some rules...

March 24, 2011 10:54 a.m.

peppyhare says... #29

@ pi_is_the_word, you're kinda not supposed to be reviewing stuff, since it's a test of what you know already-

" 5) No help. Do the work yourself and do not ask anyone else. I'm testing YOUR knowledge."

March 24, 2011 7:22 p.m.

MagnorCriol says... #30

Someone voiced a similar opinion earlier, and mafteechr simply said that "Rules and Oracle quotes are not necessary" - but not that they're against the rules. At any rate, I hope they're not disallowed because I used them to double-check my work and cite references once I was done.

Besides, pi could just be meaning that he's going to brush up on rules, then sit down and do the test, just like you study for a normal exam in class.

March 24, 2011 8:28 p.m.

dude1818 says... #31

Or you could try them cold. That's what i did. (Technically, I used oracle text, but only because the images wouldn't load.)

March 24, 2011 9:03 p.m.

Deco_y says... #32

I just did it off the top of my head. I want to know how much I know and if i'd be right.

March 24, 2011 11:58 p.m.

MagnorCriol says... #33

I just tried to treat it like I was writing to or talking to someone who's new to Magic and was asking for an explanation. Meaning, I explained it in "layman's terms" as best I could, and then I wrote down Comp Rules citations for some of the more complicated ones so that someone who's interested could look them up themselves and find out more. I also used the Comp Rules to double-check that I was slinging the correct terminology around for a couple of them.

March 25, 2011 12:28 a.m.

Deco_y says... #34

It's the internet, theres no right or wrong way haha but thats a good way too.

March 25, 2011 12:31 a.m.

Balthasar says... #35

I'm pretty sure i made the normal image of my self. The fool.

March 25, 2011 12:42 a.m.

I saw this too late to enter, but I'm honored to be an example! thanks!

Can't wait to read the results so I know if my answers were right.

March 25, 2011 1:39 a.m.

MagnorCriol says... #37

I'm sorry, Leafs_suck, there is only my way and the wrong way. That's how things work on these here internets. I AM ALWAYS RIGHT.

(Editor's note: The views expressed in this post do not necessarily represent reality.)

March 25, 2011 1:42 a.m.

Deco_y says... #38

What if KrazyCaley casts a blue instant that says you're wrong?

March 25, 2011 1:49 a.m.

Nightwielder says... #39

Here's an abridged version of the answers! click

March 25, 2011 3:45 a.m.

Thanks. I will never ever get that out of my head now.

March 25, 2011 3:55 a.m.

Nightwielder says... #41

Haha no prob, glad to help! ;-)

March 25, 2011 4:01 a.m.

Balthasar says... #42

Hellfire.

That was a great, theemptyquiver's right, I will never be able to get that out of my head. x.x

Thanks a lot.... Jerk :p

March 25, 2011 4:31 a.m.

Yeah, never got around to doing it.

@peppyhare I was thinking that right after I said it, I decided I would have skipped answers that I wasn't sure about. But, like I said never answered any of them.

Still a great line of questions!

March 25, 2011 7:48 a.m.

sporkife says... #44

Nightwielder: YOU ARE CORRECT, SIR.

March 25, 2011 10:56 p.m.

supernick says... #45

wen do we get the answers?

March 28, 2011 8:22 p.m.

doinitwrong says... #46

Probably when mafteechr finishes grading our answers. Give it time, dude.

March 28, 2011 11:02 p.m.

supernick says... #47

well i figured he was gunna grade em as he got em. make a word document with the answers ready to be cut/paste in the comment box or emails however he was gunna give em and write down who got wat on a little notepad next to the computer. thats wat i would do.

March 29, 2011 5:57 p.m.

MagnorCriol says... #48

Keep in mind he's got to do some subjective grading here, though. Yeah, he can quickly mark off what's wrong and what's right, but the next step is looking at each person's "why or why not" portion and determining how well they explained things.

If he's going to do any sort of tier system, then he's got to spend time figuring out who answered it best. (Not sure if he's doing that though, just noting that that'd add extra time.)

And of course, there's the little matter of a real life. Work could be keeping him busy.

March 29, 2011 6:09 p.m.

djdauenbaugh says... #49

Is is too late to enter? I know it's past the deadline, but i'd still kind of like to test myself with an objective grader if possible.

April 2, 2011 5:57 a.m.

dude1818 says... #50

@djdauenbaugh The deadline was over a week ago. It's probably too late.

April 2, 2011 7:31 a.m.

djdauenbaugh says... #51

:-( If only I had known....

April 2, 2011 12:50 p.m.

Jimmuh says... #52

You can always take rules tests at the dci judge center.

April 4, 2011 1:10 p.m.

Jimmuh says... #53

You can always take rules tests at the dci judge center.

April 4, 2011 1:18 p.m.

djdauenbaugh says... #54

Really? Is there one on-line? Or one near Philly?

April 5, 2011 1:01 a.m.

Jimmuh says... #55

It's online.

https://membership.wizards.com/login.aspx?ReturnURL=http%3a%2f%2fjudge.wizards.com%2fhome.aspx

April 5, 2011 2:43 p.m.

Jimmuh says... #56

It's online.

https://membership.wizards.com/login.aspx?ReturnURL=http%3a%2f%2fjudge.wizards.com%2fhome.aspx

April 5, 2011 2:43 p.m.

mafteechr says... #57

Work is keeping me busy. Sorry I haven't finished. I'm about half done.

MagnorCriol is absolutely correct. There is a lot of subjective grading going on. I have to interpret a lot of explanations to see if you really understand what rules are taking place.

April 8, 2011 4:45 p.m.

mafteechr says... #58

They are graded! I'll type it up tonight/tomorrow, and send it to squire1 to post.

April 19, 2011 10:03 p.m.

sporkife says... #59

/clap clap clap!

April 19, 2011 10:59 p.m.

Please login to comment